Boston and Montreal: June 13 - 19, 21 - 27 2019

Started by noelbotevera, March 20, 2019, 07:53:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

noelbotevera

Soon, in less than three months, I plan to be travelling to New Orleans or Montreal (still deciding between the two) or the Philippines. The latter scenario is looking increasingly unlikely, but nonetheless I will still plan out both scenarios.

First, I should note that dates haven't been set in stone yet. Currently, my family plans to get two to three weeks off, to allow time for meandering and sightseeing. These trips will occur sometime in June (if we're lucky) or August (if we're unlucky).

I should also address that if I go to the Philippines, I am a total newbie at trying to plan out a trip involving flights. Any suggestions would be first-rate and greatly appreciated.

PHILIPPINES
Destination: Manila, Philippines and other destinations in Visayas
Proposed Airport: Dulles Airport (IAD)
Route: I-81 -> I-70 -> US 15 -> VA 267 -> some airport roads
Note: I understand that I have to get there ASAP, so no time to dilly-dally.

Note 2: Still figuring out finding finances. In short, my grandfather is supposed to pay for the trip (it's clearly more complex than that), and I'm still trying to find the best flight. Anyone got ideas for how to find the best flight?

-Arrive at Dulles at least two hours before the flight, parking the car at Long Term Parking.

-Travel to the Philippines via plane; perhaps do some sightseeing if we have a long layover (2+ hours)

-Sightsee in the Philippines. Since I don't know the Philippines that well, I'll leave my dad to do all of the sightseeing and transportation. I don't plan on getting a rental car because traffic is horrid, so most travel will be by foot or by jeepney.

-Take care of family affairs, as it has been over 15 years since we've last been in the Philippines.

-Leave and go home.