AARoads Forum

Meta => Suggestions and Questions => Topic started by: US71 on March 28, 2009, 07:04:38 PM

Title: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: US71 on March 28, 2009, 07:04:38 PM
I can't get the preview function to work nor the "quote" function when writing a reply.  Anyone else having problems?
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: yanksfan6129 on March 28, 2009, 07:06:22 PM
Quote isn't working for me either.

Preview (now that I've just checked :-) ) Is working.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: yanksfan6129 on March 28, 2009, 07:06:34 PM
but that smiley didn't work. :-(
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: mightyace on March 28, 2009, 07:18:09 PM
Quote isn't working for me, either.

Preview works in the quick reply section but not otherwise.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: un1 on March 28, 2009, 07:21:27 PM
Quotes don't work, must be a bug, maybe with one of the mods that voyager install earlier.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: V'Ger on March 28, 2009, 08:21:41 PM
It's an issue that I'm trying to fix that is related to a block of code somewhere in the forum that is missing. There are about 20 files I have to go through every line of, please have some patience.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: mightyace on March 28, 2009, 08:24:35 PM
Quote
It's an issue that I'm trying to fix that is related to a block of code somewhere in the forum that is missing. There are about 20 files I have to go through every line of, please have some patience.

I write code for a living.  I don't envy you.  :banghead:
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: Revive 755 on May 27, 2009, 10:18:03 PM
I'm having a different sort of site problem:  I can't get more than the header (or whatever the part with "Hello guest please login or register" is called) to show up in both Firefox and IE 6.  I am currently typing this on a different computer.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: flaroads on May 27, 2009, 10:23:44 PM
Which version of Firefox are you using?
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: Revive 755 on May 28, 2009, 02:02:01 PM
I'm using 3.0.10, but I'm finally able to access the site using the Noscript addon and disabling burstnet.com.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: Chris on June 09, 2009, 10:19:32 AM
I see myself in the chat, while I closed it down over an hour ago... I also notice I sometimes get into the chat, and the other person I saw there left at the exact same time. Some sort of bug?
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: deathtopumpkins on June 09, 2009, 11:53:02 AM
To prevent that click the logout button in chat before closing the window. If you do not you still show up as being in chat until the next person comes along.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: getemngo on August 22, 2009, 12:00:44 AM
Sorry to bump such an old thread, but now the "quote" function isn't working for me.  The "Loading..." bar appears at the top of the window and stays there forever.  This is happening to me in both Chrome 2.0 and Firefox 3.5.  Anyone else getting this?
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: deathtopumpkins on August 22, 2009, 12:08:43 AM
It's a bug that's been reported before... I haven't been able to quote in months.

Though you can manually type
Code: [Select]
[quote]***[/quote] around the text you wish to quote still.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: rickmastfan67 on August 22, 2009, 12:29:27 AM
Sorry to bump such an old thread, but now the "quote" function isn't working for me.  The "Loading..." bar appears at the top of the window and stays there forever.  This is happening to me in both Chrome 2.0 and Firefox 3.5.  Anyone else getting this?

This is the easy way to fix it if you don't want to manually type the "Quote" tags on each side.  This fix is what I use and I'm able to quote people with no problems.

Follow these instructions:

Quote
Profile > "Look and Layout Preferences" > Change the "Use quick reply on topic display:" option to "show, off by default"

And that's it.  You will now be able to quote other people's posts with no problems now. ;)
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: Alps on August 22, 2009, 11:12:19 AM

This is the easy way to fix it if you don't want to manually type the "Quote" tags on each side.  This fix is what I use and I'm able to quote people with no problems.

Follow these instructions:

Quote
Profile > "Look and Layout Preferences" > Change the "Use quick reply on topic display:" option to "show, off by default"

And that's it.  You will now be able to quote other people's posts with no problems now. ;)


Awesome.  Thanks!
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: vdeane on August 22, 2009, 03:51:51 PM
I think the quote problem is related to the themes.  It worked fine until Button Copy was created, and was previously fixed by the removal of at least one of V'Ger's themes during the offline period.  Since preview only works on quick reply, there is presently no way to have both working (or quote with the convenience of quick reply).
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: Scott5114 on August 22, 2009, 05:54:33 PM
Quote
I think the quote problem is related to the themes.  It worked fine until Button Copy was created, and was previously fixed by the removal of at least one of V'Ger's themes during the offline period.  Since preview only works on quick reply, there is presently no way to have both working (or quote with the convenience of quick reply).

But Button Copy is just a copy of the default theme with different graphics. And since it affects the default theme itself, I can't see any reason why Button Copy would have anything to do with it.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: rickmastfan67 on August 22, 2009, 08:37:03 PM

This is the easy way to fix it if you don't want to manually type the "Quote" tags on each side.  This fix is what I use and I'm able to quote people with no problems.

Follow these instructions:

Quote
Profile > "Look and Layout Preferences" > Change the "Use quick reply on topic display:" option to "show, off by default"

And that's it.  You will now be able to quote other people's posts with no problems now. ;)


Awesome.  Thanks!

No problem. ;)  I know my way around with fixes in SMF because of being an Admin over @ the Carl Long Racing (http://www.carl-long.com/smf/) Forums. ;)
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: vdeane on August 22, 2009, 09:49:29 PM
Quote
But Button Copy is just a copy of the default theme with different graphics. And since it affects the default theme itself, I can't see any reason why Button Copy would have anything to do with it.
It just seems to get broken again around the time Button Copy was added.  I don't see why it would cause it either, though.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: SSOWorld on August 23, 2009, 12:53:38 AM
RickMast - does the same thing happen at that forum too?
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: rickmastfan67 on August 23, 2009, 01:05:08 AM
RickMast - does the same thing happen at that forum too?

No, it doesn't.  But we don't use the "TinyPortal v.1.0.6 beta" on the site, which I think might be the problem here (just taking a stab in the dark here since I don't know all the addon's you guys are using).
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: Scott5114 on August 23, 2009, 06:16:21 AM
I don't even know what "TinyPortal v.1.0.6 beta" is :-/ Alex, what is it?
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: rickmastfan67 on September 23, 2009, 01:12:31 AM
I don't even know what "TinyPortal v.1.0.6 beta" is :-/ Alex, what is it?

Well, if you guys want to PM me a list of all the addons you have install, I "might" be able to point out possible problems, but I wouldn't go hastily trying to uninstall the addons right away because that could cause more problems then fixes.  Would recommend to somehow test the fixes in a "test forum" before doing anything here.  Because I would love to see the "Quick Edit" function working here.
Title: Re: Anyone else having site problems?
Post by: SSOWorld on September 23, 2009, 06:44:45 PM
I've been wanting to do that for quite a while and between work, trips and laziness I haven't gotten to it yet  - I do intend to make a copy on a detached web server in my house and troubleshoot it.