News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Atlanta, GA 1/28-29/ 2014 Snowmageddon

Started by ZLoth, January 29, 2014, 01:59:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

I'm looking at the traffic maps and cameras at Georgia 511. It is currently 1:30 AM ET, and I am seeing traffic backup up. Also, reading the report from 11Alive Atlanta's 2014 winter weather storm leaves thousands stranded and Hundreds of students stuck at school for the night.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

codyg1985

It isn't just Atlanta that is having these issues. Birmingham interstates have also seen stranded motorists. But I guess since Atlanta is bigger, everyone else's problems just get ignored, right?
Cody Goodman
Huntsville, AL, United States

jeffandnicole

Quote from: codyg1985 on January 29, 2014, 06:50:34 AM
It isn't just Atlanta that is having these issues. Birmingham interstates have also seen stranded motorists. But I guess since Atlanta is bigger, everyone else's problems just get ignored, right?

Well, Atlanta is bigger. Atlanta has more people.  Atlanta has more media.  So, by default, yes, Atlanta will get more press, more facebook postings, more blogs, more pictures.  Birmingham people are certainly permitted to post things as well, but chances are, people are going to have more friends in the Atlanta area, and thus will forward and talk about Atlanta's issues.

Even in this thread - the OP posted several links to Atlanta issues.  Not to be smartass about it, but you contributed nothing!  Feel free to post some photos or news stories!!!

codyg1985

^ Well here you go: