News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Soaring fines give ticketed drivers sticker shock

Started by ZLoth, October 01, 2013, 01:37:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From SF Gate:

Soaring fines give ticketed drivers sticker shock
QuoteDerick Neal doesn't remember rolling a right turn at a red light in San Leandro in April, though the video from the red-light camera clearly shows the violation.

What really outraged the 40-year-old software engineer, however, was not the ticket itself, but the price: $490, plus $59 for traffic school.

"It's one thing if I was barreling through, but you can see my brake lights all the way through," he said after viewing the video. "I expected it to be $100, $150 at most for the infraction."
FULL ARTICLE HERE

I guess crime does really pay well.... for the government.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

agentsteel53

I think one of the red-light cameras around here shows a $846 fine.  I'll have to look.

I remember once receiving a speeding ticket and, due to an insecure web interface, I was able to munge the URL and look at other unpaid violations.  people had fines over $2000 in certain situations, though most of those involved some pretty high late fees.
live from sunny San Diego.

http://shields.aaroads.com

jake@aaroads.com

mtantillo

Why would traffic school be involved if it was a red light camera (no points, ticket goes to vehicle owner and not necessarily the driver).

nexus73

US 101 is THE backbone of the Pacific coast from Bandon OR to Willits CA.  Industry, tourism and local traffic would be gone or severely crippled without it being in functioning condition in BOTH states.

andy3175