News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Driving CA-4 End-to-End

Started by ZLoth, February 05, 2014, 07:44:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

Anyone drive CA-4 from Hercules to where it meets up with CA-89? From Google Maps, the Sierra portion looks challenging and is closed at the moment, but maybe next summer.....
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

oscar

I drove CA 4 last October from CA 99 to its east end at CA 89.  Not much more "challenging" than the other trans-Sierras crossings.  I've done all the others, so the CA 4 trip was just for a change of pace. 

According to Caltrans' historical chart of mountain pass closures, Ebbetts Pass on CA 4 tends to be among the first to close in the winter (closed 12/9 this winter), and among the last to reopen in the spring.  It's not too far south of Carson Pass (CA 88), which Caltrans tries to keep open year-round but is subject to occasional winter storm closures.
my Hot Springs and Highways pages, with links to my roads sites:
http://www.alaskaroads.com/home.html

gonealookin

CA-4 east of Bear Valley is narrow and winding, but for a "challenging" Sierra crossing go one pass south to CA-108 over 9600' Sonora Pass.  If you like the smell of overheated brakes, the stretch of CA-108 from Kennedy Meadows over to the Marines' Mountain Warfare Center will be right up your alley.

Both Ebbets Pass and Sonora Pass typically open sometime in May, and even in a very snowy year Caltrans makes every effort to have both of them opened by Friday of Memorial Day weekend.

kkt

Good old Sonora Pass.  Low gears are your friend.

sdmichael