News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

The Christmas Birthday Curse

Started by ZLoth, December 17, 2023, 10:30:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

I happen to know of three people whose birthday is occurring within five days prior to Christmas. Personally, I think these people are cursed because people give them a gift and say "It's your birthday and Christmas gift."
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

jeffandnicole

Quote from: ZLoth on December 17, 2023, 10:30:27 AM
I happen to know of three people whose birthday is occurring within five days prior to Christmas. Personally, I think these people are cursed because people give them a gift and say "It's your birthday and Christmas gift."

Both my birthday and my brother's birthday are in December, and my brother's bday is a week before Christmas.  So we also had the 'combined' party along with the birthday/Christmas gift.

kalvado

Think about it as an April fools joke

ZLoth

Quote from: kalvado on December 17, 2023, 11:24:38 AMThink about it as an April fools joke

My half-sister was born on April 1st. No joke.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

oscar

One of my sisters has her birthday the day after Christmas. But then, at our ages, we're long past making a big deal about birthdays, or giving birthday gifts. I'll just wish her a happy Boxing Day.

The exception is a 90-something aunt, who we take out for dinner on her June birthday (that kind of longevity rates a celebration). if and when my nieces have kids, we'll make a fuss about their birthdays too.
my Hot Springs and Highways pages, with links to my roads sites: