News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

Belt Parkway

Started by Roadman66, October 24, 2011, 01:14:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Roadman66

Why is this road so terrible?

Any room for improvements? Limited merge room, high rate of speed, which should be lowered especially going through Brooklyn and passing apartments and houses, potholes every mile, crappy bridge work, and poor signage.

Alps

NYCDOT maintenance - they have a lot of roads to maintain, and it's not fair to the city that the state dumped all their roads onto the city for maintenance.

SignBridge

The Belt Pkwy. from the Verrazano Bridge to the Nassau County Line is and has been a garbage road for the last 40 years. I've seen bumper-to-bumper traffic for that entire stretch. The only thing that makes it any better than the BQE or CBX is the absence of large trucks. But even the CBX is only 5 miles long if you get caught up in a jam.

I've been saying since back in the 1970's that whole stretch of parkway needs a complete rebuilding, with 5 lanes in each direction!!!! Heck, the whole original N.J. Turnpike was built in 2 years! The whole Grand Central/Northern State Pkwy. from the RFK Bridge to Old Westbury was done over 10 years from 1962-72. I don't care what it takes. Even 5 years if necessary and charge tolls on the friggin' road to pay for it, but just get it the heck done already! It's already 40 years late!

NJRoadfan

The main problem with the Belt is the lack of any decent parallel corridor, so all the traffic just piles onto it to get to JFK, Queens, and Eastern LI.

Lyle

Quote from: Roadman66 on October 24, 2011, 01:14:56 AM
Why is this road so terrible?

Any room for improvements? Limited merge room, high rate of speed, which should be lowered especially going through Brooklyn and passing apartments and houses, potholes every mile, crappy bridge work, and poor signage.