News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Odditty of CA-160 Freeway Sacramento.

Started by bing101, April 16, 2014, 09:10:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bing101

Well CA-160 Freeway in Sacramento for odd reasons do not post the route shield on the Control city section where Reno and Roseville is recorded. This is heading to the CA-51 Freeway.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=808056519223897&set=a.808056479223901.1073741917.100000586708549&type=1&theater

sdmichael

Those signs would have had a US 99E and US 40 had their been shields.

ZLoth

I've always considered CA-160 near CalExpo to be an oddity until you look at the old historic maps, and see that it was once one of the main ways into Sacramento.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

TheStranger

Quote from: ZLoth on April 20, 2014, 07:23:03 PM
I've always considered CA-160 near CalExpo to be an oddity until you look at the old historic maps, and see that it was once one of the main ways into Sacramento.

Both 160 and the former 275 were the original freeway routings into town when US 40 existed.  (The segment of Business 80, originally I-80, between Jefferson Boulevard and Arden Way was never US 40, though that southern portion of Route 51 was US 99E into the mid-1960s)

Chris Sampang

Concrete Bob