News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Over the Great Lakes

Started by Jim, January 20, 2015, 10:56:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jim

I'm just beginning to plan for a summer trip that will likely start with a drive from upstate NY to Omaha.  I have little interest in the I-90 to I-80 route to do so, and I'm thinking about taking a few extra days and going through Canada over the Great Lakes.  It seems the following schedule would be pretty easily doable:

Day 1: to Ottawa
Day 2: Ottawa to Sudbury or at least North Bay
Day 3: to Marathon
Day 4: to Duluth
Day 5: to Omaha

I wonder if I could be a little more aggressive and do this in 4 days instead of 5.  The trip is with family including a young child and a dog (all seasoned travelers) so I would want time to take a couple of breaks each day.  We can do 8-10 hours per day in the car, 12 if we make a more significant stop or two during the day.  I don't know how fast or slow the ride out TCH 17 will be and I'd be interested in first hand accounts.  I'm also interested to find out about which towns or other places along the way are most likely worth spending a bit of time looking around.  There are pretty long stretches between reasonably large towns where we'd likely find some hotel choices, so I want to make some reservations well ahead, especially since I need a pet friendly option.

Any insight those who have made all or part of this drive might want to offer would be great.
Photos I post are my own unless otherwise noted.
Signs: https://www.teresco.org/pics/signs/
Travel Mapping: https://travelmapping.net/user/?u=terescoj
Counties: http://www.mob-rule.com/user/terescoj
Twitter @JimTeresco (roads, travel, skiing, weather, sports)

oscar

Just a quick partial response, as someone who's done pretty much all of that route at least twice.