News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Motorists Say EZPass Routinely Racks Up Unfair Fees for Unpaid Tolls

Started by ZLoth, March 01, 2023, 01:38:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From The City - Reporting for New Yorkers:

Motorists Say E-ZPass Routinely Racks Up Unfair Fees for Unpaid Tolls
Proponents of a state bill already killed three times are still trying to pass measures to shield drivers from surprise fees and collection agency harassment.
QuoteCashless tolling is causing headaches for some E-ZPass users who have unknowingly racked up hundreds and thousands of dollars in violation fees.

Complaints about E-ZPass billing are not novel, but a new attempt by the New York state legislature to pass the oft-vetoed Toll Payer Protection Act (TPPA) has brought renewed attention.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

jeffandnicole

So, the 2 examples within the article of "EZ Pass Users" who have had headaches.

For starters... I placed "EZ Pass Users" in quotes.  These people don't have EZ Pass, so they're not EZ Pass users.

QuoteAmong those who contacted Burgos' office with E-ZPass complaints recently was 26-year-old Cheyenne Samu, who lives in Jamaica, Queens. She showed THE CITY how she owes almost $5,800 in fees to the New York State Thruway Authority, stemming from about $735 in tolls that first started stacking up in early 2020.

She had no issue paying the tolls, she said, but as for the fees: "It's just robbing people, honestly."