AARoads Forum

Meta => Suggestions and Questions => Topic started by: webny99 on September 26, 2019, 02:01:24 PM

Title: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: webny99 on September 26, 2019, 02:01:24 PM
I'm having a very interesting problem when trying to insert a second (or third, etc.) quote into a post.

The first quote shows up fine. But then if I hit "insert quote" to insert a second quote, it doesn't do it, and instead takes me to a new page, with the following message: "An error has occurred! The board you specified does not exist!"

This isn't a huge problem, but it is mildly annoying at best, and I wondered if anyone else is having this issue or if it's something that can be diagnosed?
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: 1 on September 26, 2019, 02:03:28 PM
Same here. It used to work fine.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: kphoger on September 26, 2019, 03:45:53 PM
I had this problem more than once today.  It didn't only happen when trying to insert another quote (and, indeed, didn't always happen when I did) but also occasionally when I clicked the [Preview] button after formatting my quotes and replies.  The first time it happened, I had constructed a rather lengthy post with multiple quotes in it, and then all was lost.  It's gotten to the point that I copy all my text before clicking on anything else, just in case I have to pasted it into a blank reply later.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: rickmastfan67 on September 26, 2019, 08:20:14 PM
It's being looked into.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: DaBigE on September 26, 2019, 09:00:11 PM
I've had this issue for a couple days. If I hit the back button, the second quote appeared properly, like nothing ever happened.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: adventurernumber1 on September 27, 2019, 01:17:17 AM
This happened to me a few days ago. Due to the fact that I've lost some my drafts in the past from page refresh (that I didn't initiate) on my phone, I've already made a habit of copying my draft in preparation to paste it whenever the page is about to change, and I do it anyway intermittently, just in case the rare automatic page refresh occurs. In this particular incident right now (of not being able to insert more quotes in a post draft), I combated this by copying the first part of my draft, leaving and heading back to the regular forum thread viewing page, then quoted desired quote directly from there, then pasted the part of my draft from earlier I had copied into the new draft (hence editing the parts together). Albeit, this was a much more complicated endeavor, but I found it was at least one way to try to get around this current error.


Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: Alps on September 27, 2019, 06:43:15 PM
We've made an update that has restored users' IP addresses. Curious if it will also solve this issue. I just tested with 2 quotes and it worked fine. Preview seems to work as well.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: 1 on September 27, 2019, 06:44:51 PM
We've made an update that has restored users' IP addresses. Curious if it will also solve this issue. I just tested with 2 quotes and it worked fine. Preview seems to work as well.

Fixed for me, too.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: webny99 on September 27, 2019, 08:19:19 PM
Hmm. It's still doing it to me (on mobile - haven't tried from computer yet). Good to know it can be easily circumvented by just clicking the back arrow (wish I'd thought of that sooner!)

I also just realized it's not specific to the second quote. It's any time the "insert quote" function is used. Clicking "quote" when you don't already have an open post works just fine.

Thanks for looking into it!
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: Alps on September 27, 2019, 09:00:11 PM
Hmm. It's still doing it to me (on mobile - haven't tried from computer yet). Good to know it can be easily circumvented by just clicking the back arrow (wish I'd thought of that sooner!)

I also just realized it's not specific to the second quote. It's any time the "insert quote" function is used. Clicking "quote" when you don't already have an open post works just fine.

Thanks for looking into it!
Okay, so just like chat, this is still broken for some (many?) users.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: 1 on September 28, 2019, 08:53:16 AM
Starting a few days ago, going forward/back pages would automatically reload the page, which was not a change that I liked. (My default page on this forum is "recent unread topics", so this makes a big difference.) Fortunately, this seems to have been changed back when the issue was fixed.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: rickmastfan67 on September 28, 2019, 11:07:52 AM
Starting a few days ago, going forward/back pages would automatically reload the page, which was not a change that I liked. (My default page on this forum is "recent unread topics", so this makes a big difference.) Fortunately, this seems to have been changed back when the issue was fixed.

Yeah, that was annoying me too. lol.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: webny99 on September 30, 2019, 10:36:17 AM
Hmm. It's still doing it to me (on mobile - haven't tried from computer yet). Good to know it can be easily circumvented by just clicking the back arrow (wish I'd thought of that sooner!

Thanks for looking into it!
Okay, so just like chat, this is still broken for some (many?) users.

UPDATE: I just tried and it seems to be working fine now.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: kphoger on September 30, 2019, 02:08:45 PM
Good to know it can be easily circumvented by just clicking the back arrow (wish I'd thought of that sooner!)

That didn't work for me.  Clicking back would take me back, but all of my text would be gone.

Starting a few days ago, going forward/back pages would automatically reload the page, which was not a change that I liked. (My default page on this forum is "recent unread topics", so this makes a big difference.) Fortunately, this seems to have been changed back when the issue was fixed.

In the past, this issue has depended on what computer I was using.  My computer at home would automatically reload, while my computer at work would not.  I had noticed the recent change on my work computer matching what you described, but I just chalked it up to my browser having taken an update or something like that.  But it's back to normal for me now, with my work computer no longer auto-reloading.

UPDATE: I just tried and it seems to be working fine now.

I haven't posted enough yet to know for sure if it's fixed or not on my end.
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: webny99 on September 30, 2019, 02:52:21 PM
UPDATE: I just tried and it seems to be working fine now.
I haven't posted enough yet to know for sure if it's fixed or not on my end.

Well, you just quoted three different posts, so that ought to be evidence enough as to whether that issue is fixed.  :-P
Title: Re: Problem with Inserting 2+ Quotes
Post by: kphoger on September 30, 2019, 03:36:28 PM
UPDATE: I just tried and it seems to be working fine now.
I haven't posted enough yet to know for sure if it's fixed or not on my end.

Well, you just quoted three different posts, so that ought to be evidence enough as to whether that issue is fixed.  :-P

No, the problem was intermittent for me.