News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

Projects That Even a Roadgeek Does Not Want

Started by Grzrd, August 26, 2010, 11:12:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grzrd

I'm a newbie, so apologies if this has been hashed out on an older thread (7 pages of GHT topics too much for me to go thru ...)

We are all road enthusiasts and love the thrill of riding "new" road after completion of a construction project, whether new terrain or upgrade.  However, have you ever read about a project and had an impulse to be against it?

I have surprised myself by having this reaction to the proposed Interstate 3 from Savannah to Knoxville.  Savannah thru Augusta to I-85 makes a lot of sense to me.  However, the "mountain" section from I-85 to Knoxville just does not sit well with me.  I think I-40, I-26 and I-77 collectively provide sufficient Interstate mountain corridors for Tenn./ western N.C. area.  [FULL DISCLOSURE - I grew up in foothills of NE Georgia and I suspect I may be getting in touch with my "inner NIMBY"  :no:].

Has anyone else had a similar reaction to a given project?

agentsteel53

any mention of the National Highway System can die in a fire.
live from sunny San Diego.

http://shields.aaroads.com

jake@aaroads.com

Brandon

I-66, I-69, I-73, and I-74 come to my mind.

I-66 is a bit silly.  Just upgrade the parkways in Kentucky and use a number that fits such as I-56.
I-69 is too ambitious, IMHO.  Use a few numbers that fit the grid to an extent, and use a suplimentary shield for the CanAmMex Corridor.
I-73.  Why?  Ohio and Michigan don't seem to want it.  NC should use another number such as I-91 (south a la I-76, I-84, etc).
I-74.  Again, why?  Only NC is hot to trot to have it.
"If you think this has a happy ending, you haven't been paying attention." - Ramsay Bolton, "Game of Thrones"