SH-190/PGBT Tollway East Branch extension to I-20 (Segment VIII)

Started by ZLoth, March 12, 2023, 12:03:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

Anyone want to hazard any guesses as to when they will extend SH-190/President George Bush Turnpike from I-30 (current termination) to I-20 aka Segment VIII? My guess is that it probably won't be until 2030 when the first shovel of dirt is turned over. It appears that NTTA's priority is to extend the Dallas North Tollway northward in preparation for the growth that is occurring in that area.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

Bobby5280

I'm skeptical the NTTA will be able to extend the PGBT on South of I-30 at all. Ever. They farted around for too many years doing nothing and have missed their shot. 15 years ago there was a lot of green field space between I-30 and I-20 by Lake Ray Hubbard and South of Rowlett Dam. Not anymore. If they want to extend the PGBT down to I-20 now the NTTA will damned near be forced to build a causeway over Lake Ray Hubbard and thru the wetlands along the East Fork of the Trinity River. Environmentalists and other groups would have a cow over that.

ZLoth

Quote from: Bobby5280 on March 12, 2023, 12:17:07 AM15 years ago there was a lot of green field space between I-30 and I-20 by Lake Ray Hubbard and South of Rowlett Dam. Not anymore.
Fifteen years ago would be... 2008. And, we knew what happened back then.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

The Ghostbuster

Why does the PGBT have two state Highway designations (TX 161, TX 190)? I would think one designation (or none) would suffice.

ZLoth