23 Difficult Aspects Of Homeownership, Told By First-Time Buyers

Started by ZLoth, June 20, 2023, 02:04:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From BuzzFeed:

"It's Ruining Our Lives": People Are Sharing The Hard Realities And Regrets Of Actually Being A Homeowner
"I was so excited about the home price and the area that I missed that major piece when I bought it – and I can't work around it now."
QuotePreviously, I've shared stories about the regrets that first-time homebuyers had and the things that they'll do differently when purchasing their next home. But when u/orangeblossomhoneyd asked the homeowners of Reddit to share the things they learned after buying their first home, I was reminded that many unfortunate homeowner realities only make themselves known once closing day is just a distant, stressful memory. These are just some of the most helpful responses.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

ZLoth

I'd like to talk to the fellow who said to budget "1% to 2% of the purchase price of your home each year for routine maintenance projects". Every year, the improvements made on my home have exceeded that 2%, whether it be putting in more energy efficient windows, replacing the air conditioner, putting in new patio doors, or repairing a leak in the swimming pool. At least I'm spending the extra money for the "good stuff" instead of the "cheap stuff", because in the long run, the "good stuff" lasts much longer than the "cheap stuff", and doesn't have to be replaced as often. I also believe the critical and very important improvements have been completed.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".