News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

NFL Sunday Ticket rights goes to Google

Started by ZLoth, December 22, 2022, 10:31:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From NFL:

NFL And Google Partner to Bring Fans the Next Generation of NFL Sunday Ticket on YouTube Tv and YouTube Primetime Channels
QuoteThe National Football League today announced a multi-year agreement with Google granting YouTube TV and YouTube Primetime Channels the right to exclusively distribute NFL Sunday Ticket to consumers in the United States starting with the 2023 NFL season. This strategic partnership will provide fans greater access to NFL Sunday Ticket while tapping into the best of YouTube's technology and product innovation.
FULL ARTICLE HERE

I see a batch of DirecTV cancellations starting on Monday, January 9th, followed by the words "I'm free! I'm free!"

I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

SP Cook

Not so fast, sparky.  Remember that DirecTV lost money on this package from day one.  So why did they carry it.  Because to buy it, you had to first buy its regular TV service. 

And Google will do the same thing.  To buy ST, you will have to first buy its YouTubeTV package, which is an inferior collection of TV channels to DirecTV's or most any cable company's.   It is even inferior to Dish.  Or buy multiple streaming services that it resells at a markup under its YouTube Primetime marketplace.  And not the good streamers, but niche things like Acorn, AllBlk, and Great Courses. 

You ain't free.

ZLoth

Quote from: SP Cook on December 22, 2022, 12:33:33 PM