News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

Many US bridges old, risky and rundown

Started by ZLoth, September 15, 2013, 09:26:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From AP via SF Gate:

Many US bridges old, risky and rundown
QuoteMotorists coming off the Frederick Douglass Memorial Bridge into Washington are treated to a postcard-perfect view of the U.S. Capitol. The bridge itself, however, is about as ugly as it gets: The steel underpinnings have thinned since the structure was built in 1950, and the span is pocked with rust and crumbling concrete.

District of Columbia officials were so worried about a catastrophic failure that they shored up the horizontal beams to prevent the bridge from falling into the Anacostia River.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

NE2

Many US dogs manbiters

Also, nice job deannexing Anacostia from Washington.
pre-1945 Florida route log

I accept and respect your identity as long as it's not dumb shit like "identifying as a vaccinated attack helicopter".

Alps

Quote from: NE2 on September 15, 2013, 09:43:50 PM
Many US dogs manbiters

Every news article about bridge repairs has to go through the same rigmarole. As an engineer, it irks me, because I know that it's all media pap to create hysteria and - get this - generate readership to support advertisers to support the paper in an endless cycle.

Big John

The article is erroneously implying that all "fracture critical" bridges  are in imminate danger of collapse.  They need more frequent in-depth inspections of the critical components, but not in danger of collapse if designed and maintained correctly.