News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

First Snow 2013

Started by ZLoth, September 25, 2013, 11:09:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

Heh.... I was on a road trip today with my mother along California State Route 49.... and what do you know.... I have SNOW! This was east of Sierra City.

First snow along CA-49 (1st Photo)
First snow along CA-49 (2nd Photo)

I'm just a little surprised, since I don't expect snow until mid-October at the earliest. Color me surprised.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

corco

We're supposed to get snow overnight here in Deer Lodge....I'm pretty excited about this!

froggie

Not common, but not unheard of either.  Even in both Minneapolis and far northern New England, we've been known to get snow in late September.

Brandon

Quote from: froggie on September 26, 2013, 03:37:02 AM
Not common, but not unheard of either.  Even in both Minneapolis and far northern New England, we've been known to get snow in late September.

Same thing in northern Wisconsin and Upper Michigan.  I've seen snow in the Keweenaw Peninsula as early as mid-late September.  Of course, that season lasted until mid-May.  :-D
"If you think this has a happy ending, you haven't been paying attention." - Ramsay Bolton

"Symbolic of his struggle against reality." - Reg

Dougtone

Quote from: froggie on September 26, 2013, 03:37:02 AM

Or Memorial Day weekend, as was the case this year, at least in northern New England as well as the Adirondacks.

SteveG1988

Wasn't the first snow of 2013 back in January 2013?

Sorry, just had to post a dumbass comment to start.

Predictions for the mid atlantic: No snow til maybe late Dec
Roads Clinched