CA 89 from Lassen Volanic National Park to US 50 at Lake Tahoe

Started by Max Rockatansky, June 25, 2017, 08:44:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Max Rockatansky

This is kind of my work in progress album as I haven't finished uploading it yet:

https://flic.kr/s/aHsm38Gq3Y

Presently all of the photos from Lassen south to Quincy at CA 70 are up.  There is quite a bit here with alignment shifts and pretty much everything so this will be a longer thread once I get a chance to look at state highway maps.  I did go over Emerald Bay which was something I've never done before and was what I needed to clinch all of 89.  I actually overheated by brakes slogging south in a six mile long back up approaching CA 28 and had to stop for a lot longer than I wanted to let them cool....serves me right for coming anywhere near Tahoe on a Saturday.

gonealookin

Tahoe City and the west shore, past Emerald Bay and down to Camp Rich, are calamitous for traffic on weekends.  The east shore, from Incline Village down NV 28 and US 50 to Stateline, usually moves quite well.  Certainly anyone wanting to get from Truckee to South Lake Tahoe quickly would want Brockway (CA 267) to CA/NV 28.

If that was your only chance to go around Emerald Bay you had to do it, though.  The hogback on the south side, captured in a couple of your photos, is great fun unless you're an acrophobe.  I can't say I've ever driven it in nasty winter weather.  Often the Emerald Bay stretch is closed during and for several days after winter storms, mostly due to the avalanche risk in the area of the huge 1950s rockslide.

Max Rockatansky

Quote from: gonealookin on June 26, 2017, 12:36:15 AM
Tahoe City and the west shore, past Emerald Bay and down to Camp Rich, are calamitous for traffic on weekends.  The east shore, from Incline Village down NV 28 and US 50 to Stateline, usually moves quite well.  Certainly anyone wanting to get from Truckee to South Lake Tahoe quickly would want Brockway (CA 267) to CA/NV 28.