Duluth I-35 construction in the 70s & 80s

Started by texaskdog, February 24, 2015, 03:29:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

texaskdog

texaskdog

TheHighwayMan3561

Here's a photo from 1962, with a small idea of how the freeway may have looked in its original elevated proposal.

self-certified as the dumbest person on this board for 5 years running

texaskdog

Cool photo!

Cant find any info about the plan to go to 68th street

TheHighwayMan3561

Quote from: texaskdog on February 24, 2015, 04:41:28 PM

I sort of wonder if this was just a short-lived pipe dream that was dialed back shortly after it was proposed (with no official documents ever written) after it was discovered how unfeasible it was.

Although with that in mind I have no knowledge of the history of the US 61 expressway from Duluth to Two Harbors, whether that was built as a separate project or if that was built with an eventual (failed) I-35 extension in mind; what I do know is that the expressway dates to the early 1960s, for what that's worth.

NE2

pre-1945 Florida route log

I accept and respect your identity as long as it's not dumb shit like "identifying as a vaccinated attack helicopter".

texaskdog

Quote from: TheHighwayMan394 on February 24, 2015, 04:53:56 PM
Quote from: texaskdog on February 24, 2015, 04:41:28 PM

I sort of wonder if this was just a short-lived pipe dream that was dialed back shortly after it was proposed (with no official documents ever written) after it was discovered how unfeasible it was.

Although with that in mind I have no knowledge of the history of the US 61 expressway from Duluth to Two Harbors, whether that was built as a separate project or if that was built with an eventual (failed) I-35 extension in mind; what I do know is that the expressway dates to the early 1960s, for what that's worth.

Maybe Froggie knows.

None of these answer it but they seem interesting anyway