News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Audiobook or Old Time Radio listeners? (2024 Edition)

Started by ZLoth, January 01, 2024, 02:38:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

Anyone listen to Audiobooks or Old Time Radio programs when on a long drive, commute, or road trip? Consider me one of them. It's nice having a few books or shows downloaded to my phone for later playback.

For fully-dramatized audiobooks, the go-to source for me is GraphicAudio. The bad part is that, unless they are on sale, they tend to be expensive.

My other go-to source is Audible. They tend to have frequent sales, so you may want to build up a wishlist.

As for Old Time Radio, I tend to enjoy the old crime dramas as well as Science Fiction titles.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

bandit957

I'd like to still be able to listen to regular radio on road trips, but nobody else likes regular radio anymore. Who can blame them? It's gotten so bad. But I'd just like to be able to listen to the few remaining stations that might broadcast something listenable.
Might as well face it, pooing is cool

Hobart

If "Old Time Radio" is slang for like, radio in your car, yeah I still use it from time to time, usually if I don't have CDs with me.

A couple of summers ago I was listening to WGN 720 on my way to Gary, Indiana, because I was taking my mom's car to my internship and her CD player didn't work. I think I was listening to either easy listening or classic rock on the way back, not sure what channel.