News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

American life in 1914: How we lived a century ago

Started by ZLoth, January 03, 2014, 10:19:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

Major Events in 1914

Charlie Chaplin makes his film debut in "Making a Living." (February)
President Woodrow Wilson orders troops to take military action against Mexico following the Tampico Incident. (April)
Mother's Day is recognized as a national holiday in the U.S. (May)
Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria is assassinated, unofficially beginning World War I. (June)
Babe Ruth makes his debut with the Boston Red Sox. (July)
The Panama Canal is inaugurated. (August)
The U.S. Federal Trade Commission is established. (September)
The Federal Reserve opens (November)

Enjoy the pictures.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

xcellntbuy

I like articles like this.

The year 1914 is a major watershed of history.

Cars were just starting to become more available, many roads were not paved outside of cities (and inside some cities, as well), radio was just becoming to develop as an organized communications medium, land-based long distance travel was by railroad, man could only fly for 10 years and boarding a ship was the only way to get around the globe.  Women could not vote in the great majority of the country.  The first modern war (the American Civil War) had only ended 49 years before with a much bigger war just beginning to engulf the world.

nexus73