News:

The AARoads Wiki is live! Come check it out!

Main Menu

CB Radio Craze: Prehistoric Road Forum?

Started by Grzrd, September 15, 2010, 10:28:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Grzrd

On the GHT "interesting Interstate Drives" thread, someone mentioned the view of the Atlanta skyline from the I-20 hill just west of Six Flags.  That triggered a memory for me that that view was featured in an old Burt Reynolds movie, either "Sharky's Machine" or "Smokey and the Bandit".  I wanted to see how much the Atlanta skyline has changed in the 30 to 35 year interim & made a quick, unsuccessful effort to find a relevant clip.

However, the "Smokey and the Bandit" clips brought back a lot of memories (BTW - don't laugh too hard; Alfred Hitchcock's daughter was quoted as saying that her dad loved the movie and considered it one of his "guilty pleasures").  I was a college student in that era, and consistently made the long drive back and forth from NE Georgia to school in Virginia.  The national speed limit was 55 mph and radar detectors were illegal in Virginia.  I often made the drive during third shift hours: limited radio options and a limited, clunky collection of 8-tracks for music.  My father did not want me to get arrested for speeding and/or illegal radar detector, and he was aware that Citizens Band radios ("CBs") were increasingly used by people to evade the "double nickel" speed limit.  So, when I was a freshman, he gave me a CB.

Here's a well-done CB "tutorial" using "Smokey and the Bandit" clips: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpyzlHvN1yE