News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

1960s Denver Freeways: The Columbine and Skyline Freeways

Started by dwillsey, August 17, 2012, 08:58:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dwillsey

I am currently an intern with the City of Denver, and I was sent over to the library today to retrieve some documents from the Western History Collection.  While there I got curious and decided to search the catalogue for "freeway planning."  Two very interesting documents came up.... really gorgeous master plans for the Skyline and Columbine Freeways that never happened, obviously.

In any case I quickly Photoshopped all the images I took trying to correct for page distortions and such and cropping them.  I have attached them below.  As much of a proponent as I am for auto-based transportation.... the Skyline proposal still managed to shock me, even from the perspective of the 1960s.  Though a Quebec Freeway and Columbine Freeway would have been very nice to have today, I think it's safe to say we can all be glad the Skyline never happened.

Enjoy:

Zmapper

Very nice! I think most can agree that it was a good thing that Downtown Denver was not sliced in half by a freeway.

mgk920

What was the area where the Skyline Freeway was planned to go like back in the 1950s and 1960s?  Wasn't that a mostly railroad and industrial wasteland then?  I don't sense that it started turning into what it is now until at least the 1980s.

Fascinating!

:nod:

Mike

Milepost61

Quote from: mgk920 on August 17, 2012, 09:53:34 PM
What was the area where the Skyline Freeway was planned to go like back in the 1950s and 1960s?  Wasn't that a mostly railroad and industrial wasteland then?  I don't sense that it started turning into what it is now until at least the 1980s.