News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

The LeHay font

Started by hbelkins, September 23, 2021, 01:56:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hbelkins

The LeHay font that Maine used is something of a novelty.

Is there any history available of its origin? Google is not much help. Mostly pictures of signs with the font, and an offer to redirect to the Leahy font which is the official font of Notre Dame athletics.

I'm a bit surprised some amateur fontographer hasn't created a replica the way they have for the FHWA font or Clearview.

2021 Western road trip Day 6 - 047 by H.B. Elkins, on Flickr

I shot this in West Yellowstone. It looks an awful lot like LeHay to me.

Government would be tolerable if not for politicians and bureaucrats.

LilianaUwU

Quote from: hbelkins on September 23, 2021, 01:56:27 PM
I'm a bit surprised some amateur fontographer hasn't created a replica the way they have for the FHWA font or Clearview.

I'm assuming the reason behind that is that there are too many small variations, or that it wasn't very well documented, or a combination of both.
"Volcano with no fire... Not volcano... Just mountain."
—Mr. Thwomp

My pronouns are she/her. Also, I'm an admin on the AARoads Wiki.

SectorZ

Massachusetts used to use it as well but it has gone extinct on state route shields.

MA 113 in West Newbury, replaced in 2015, https://goo.gl/maps/1VYPWvxhK2ivR8Qe8
MA 150 in Amesbury had one that may still exist, but the GSV is from 2008 and predictably is so bad you can't even make out the shield on it.
MA 38 in Tewksbury had one into the late 90's as well that I remember as a kid.

The city of Gloucester has a copious amount of signs still using it, especially along MA 127 in the Lanesville and Annisquam sections of the city. An example, https://goo.gl/maps/EEx4gpFKftorjx1U9