News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

The Woodlands I-45 question

Started by jander, August 12, 2015, 09:55:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jander

All,  I have family in The Woodlands, TX area that I have been visiting often for the last 18 months.  Since I have been there, I have witnessed the construction of 2 giant flyover ramps in the Conroe area. They appear to connect I-45 to tX242 and I belive they are tolled.

Now I must say I actually like the Texas Feeder road concept.

But can someone explain to me how these ramps work, and why they are necessary?  Traffic never seemed that bad to me, and the feeder road concept made the left turn easy.  Of course I  am not commuting daily either. It just seems like expensive infrastructure for the sake of infrastructure. Do the tolls pay for the cost of the ramps?  Is traffic flow that much better?

Thanks.

iBallasticwolf2

How do you think they are tolled? Those ramps sure don't seem tolled.
Only two things are infinite in this world, stupidity, and I-75 construction

MaxConcrete

The ramps are tolled, $0.50 during the day and $0.25 at night.

Here are some excerpts from a recent news report: