News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

OK: US-59 bridge over 'Kerr Reservoir' hit by barge

Started by rickmastfan67, March 31, 2024, 12:08:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rickmastfan67

Thankfully, didn't seem to be damaged, as they've reopened the bridge.

CoreySamson

Wow. I just drove that bridge for the first time just a week ago.
Buc-ee's and QuikTrip fanboy. Clincher of FM roads. Proponent of the TX U-turn.

My Route Log
My Clinches

Now on mobrule and Travel Mapping!

LilianaUwU

"Volcano with no fire... Not volcano... Just mountain."
—Mr. Thwomp

My pronouns are she/her. Also, I'm an admin on the AARoads Wiki.

Rothman

Quote from: LilianaUwU on March 31, 2024, 06:22:42 AM..why is this becoming a trend?

It isn't.  Barges hit bridges with some frequency, anyway.  Bigger outlets are just reporting on them because of the topic du jour and everyone wants to get agitated over it.
Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position(s) of NYSDOT.

BigOkie

Had flashbacks of 2002 reading that topic headline 🥺

Bobby5280

Yeah, I immediately thought about the barge strike on the I-40 bridge at Webbers Falls in 2002. That was horrible. In the years since that bridge was re-built a series of concrete dolphins were installed in the river waters North and South of the bridge to help protect it from barge strikes. The US-59 bridge just past the Robert S Kerr Dam doesn't look like it has any bridge pier protections at all.

MikieTimT

It's insane that there isn't at minimum dolphins at least the upstream side of the piers at the channel edge of every bridge on MKARNS.  We're not talking about a huge number of them.

Scott5114

Yes, but the ODOT budget for northeast Oklahoma is twelve dollars and a Burger King coupon, so.
uncontrollable freak sardine salad chef

Bobby5280