Bridges in most need of repair/replacement

Started by ajlynch91, January 16, 2015, 09:32:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ajlynch91

I'm not a civil engineer, so this bridge may very well be structurally sound, although it certainly doesn't look like it.

https://maps.google.com/maps?q=4694+S+Archer+Ave,+Chicago,+Illinois,+United+States&hl=en&ll=41.808074,-87.714072&spn=0.000368,0.000791&sll=41.808074,-87.714072&sspn=0.00037,0.001047&t=h&dirflg=h&hnear=4694+S+Archer+Ave,+Chicago,+Illinois+60632&z=21&layer=c&cbll=41.807994,-87.714042&panoid=UgcdAZ-xns113k9XGYpxqw&cbp=12,29.19,,0,-2.21

There's exposed rebar and damage from trucks hitting it on more than one occasion it seems, and on top of that it carries freight traffic from the BNSF yard that's just north of here. That's a lot of weight to constantly bear 24/7. Look anywhere in Chicago and you'll find plenty of examples similar to this one. I feel like one day over a hundred degrees could lead to bridge failure, which happened on a Union Pacific bridge in Northbrook a couple years ago.

What are some examples of other bridges around you than obviously need repair?

roadman65

Most of New Jersey has bridges that need one or the two. Heck it took years, but finally NJDOT got their funding to redo the entire NJ 72 Causeway to Long Beach Island that has been in really bad shape for a long time.

Also the Elizabeth River Viaduct in Elizabeth along US 1 & 9 was replaced long after the bridge was deemed bad as well as the bridge over NJ 35 several miles to the south of it. 

The funding is not there that there is a waiting list for bridges just to be repaired or replaced.
Every day is a winding road, you just got to get used to it.

Sheryl Crowe

OCGuy81

The I-5 Interstate Bridge between Oregon and Washington!

vdeane

Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position of NYSDOT or its affiliates.

cpzilliacus