News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

Best uses of highway funding in your state.

Started by SteveG1988, February 06, 2015, 08:05:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SteveG1988

I'm going to start with the US78 turning into I-22. As a truck driver I appreciate the routing the road is taking, I could not imagine just how different it would have been before 95% of the routing between Birmingham AL and Memphis TN was a freeway.

In NJ: The Upgrading of the Turnpike with the new truck lanes, and the repaving of the original lanes along the same length of the turnpike. NJTA did that the right way, and gave everyone a better road, plus it didn't take a ton of time to do the actual construction compared to other expansion projects across the nation. And as an ongoing project, the conversion of the intersections on the Parkway to full interchanges.

In PA and NJ: Interstate 78, a link that was needed to help connect the ports to I-81 which is one of the more important interstates in my opinion.

TN: 840, as built it is an excellent bypass of Nashville, nice constant speeds, well laid out, may add some distance but you make up for it in time.

MO: The new I70 bridge, beautiful span that also removes a headache from the Poplar Street Bridge.

Roads Clinched

I55,I82,I84(E&W)I88(W),I87(N),I81,I64,I74(W),I72,I57,I24,I65,I59,I12,I71,I77,I76(E&W),I70,I79,I85,I86(W),I27,I16,I97,I96,I43,I41,

OCGuy81

Two that come immediately to mind

- Improvements to the 5 Santa Ana freeway in southern LA County.  A few decades overdue.

- Improvements to CA-91 in Riverside County.  Providing access to an area where the population has increased rapidly, 91 is really one of the few east-west routes between OC/Riverside County and is constantly clogged.  The more it can be improved upon, the better!

hbelkins

The Kentucky parkways (former toll roads).