AARoads Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?  (Read 38046 times)

Thing 342

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1226
  • Age: 21
  • Location: Hampton / Arlington, VA
  • Last Login: June 22, 2019, 07:08:20 PM
    • Thing 342's Road Photos
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #25 on: March 15, 2015, 07:47:52 AM »

I still think it's fallacy to assume a 32 bit machine can't address more than 4GB of RAM.  System architects just aren't being sufficiently creative.  After all, 16 bit machines weren't limited to 64KB of RAM.  But then, I suppose EMS and XMS maybe weren't elegant solutions…
There is PAE (Physical Address Extension), a kernel patch which allows you to use 36-bit addressing and thereby increases your maximum RAM to about 64GB. However, it only allows a a process to use up to 2GB of RAM, and breaks compatibility with NVIDIA drivers, rendering it pretty much useless for our scenario.
Logged

Thing 342

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1226
  • Age: 21
  • Location: Hampton / Arlington, VA
  • Last Login: June 22, 2019, 07:08:20 PM
    • Thing 342's Road Photos
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #26 on: March 15, 2015, 11:11:04 AM »

So I finally decided to purchase and download the game and I get the black screen error that about half of all Linux users seem to be getting. Sigh...
Logged

Roadrunner75

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 955
  • Age: 43
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Last Login: January 26, 2019, 11:53:46 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #27 on: March 15, 2015, 12:03:47 PM »

I've only ever played SimCity Classic
That's not something you hear too often in 2015
I had SimCity for my Commodore 64.  That's the version I probably played the most, although I think I had an early PC version too.  Somewhere around here I have a newer version, still in the box, for whenever I get around to installing it.  I'll probably leave that to my son, for when he's ready to play with it.  That being said, this newer stuff here looks really cool, and I wish I had the time to try it out.

Logged

Dr Frankenstein

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1487
  • Canada Freezes Before Your Roads.

  • Age: 29
  • Location: LeMoyne, QC
  • Last Login: May 29, 2019, 09:40:09 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #28 on: March 15, 2015, 12:15:44 PM »

The game itself is probably compiled in AMD64 machine code anyway, in which case there's no way it'll run on 32-bit systems.
Logged

Thing 342

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1226
  • Age: 21
  • Location: Hampton / Arlington, VA
  • Last Login: June 22, 2019, 07:08:20 PM
    • Thing 342's Road Photos
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #29 on: March 15, 2015, 09:22:36 PM »

Finally managed to get it running via a process that involved
  • Uninstalling and reinstalling Steam
  • Purging and reinstalling all of my Nvidia drivers
  • Purging and reinstalling bumblebee and Primus
  • Purging and reinstalling my DE as well as xserver
  • And finally, re-downloading all of my games.
The joys of gaming on Linux. Anyways, I built a medium-sized city, population 10,200:
Logged

Eth

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 2395
  • Age: 32
  • Location: Georgia
  • Last Login: June 23, 2019, 08:54:44 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #30 on: March 17, 2015, 10:32:46 PM »

I downloaded the game Friday night and have been playing it almost non-stop since.

I just spent about half an hour replacing an underpowered cloverleaf with this...thing. You may get mildly seasick traversing this interchange (especially making the WB->SB movement), but it's effective.

Logged

Zeffy

  • Revved to Redline
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 4385
  • Age: 25
  • Location: Doylestown, Pennsylvania
  • Last Login: March 29, 2019, 08:56:35 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #31 on: March 17, 2015, 10:54:49 PM »

It's probably better functioning than this, which I spent $27k on to improve traffic flow in the area! Suffice to say - it didn't work. That roundabout that isn't the interchange is constantly jammed, and the interchange has TRAFFIC SIGNALS from the offramps, leading to even more jams.

Logged
Life's too short to play it safe.

Exploring roads in my 2018 Honda Civic Type R. Hopefully those roads are free of potholes :D

algorerhythms

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 585
  • Age: 3
  • Last Login: October 30, 2016, 11:58:25 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #32 on: March 25, 2015, 02:00:40 PM »

I downloaded the game a couple days ago and have been playing it quite a bit since then. I like it so far, though I miss some of the data views from SC4 (specifically I'd like to be able to click on a road and see where the people using it are coming from and going to).

Also I learned the hard way to never build a hydroelectric dam. That's just asking for trouble.

edit -- made a "SPUI" (though not really, because the right turns are signaled)
« Last Edit: March 27, 2015, 12:28:32 AM by algorerhythms »
Logged

kurumi

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1548
  • Location: Cupertino, CA
  • Last Login: Today at 12:48:43 AM
    • kurumi.com
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #33 on: March 27, 2015, 12:01:24 PM »

There's a nice FreewayJim-style driver's POV video:
Logged

Roadrunner75

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 955
  • Age: 43
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Last Login: January 26, 2019, 11:53:46 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #34 on: March 28, 2015, 05:32:35 PM »

There's a nice FreewayJim-style driver's POV video
That's really cool.  The only thing I don't like (which was mentioned previously) is how abrupt the on and off-ramps are.
Logged

vtk

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 3906
  • she pronouns please

  • Age: -15
  • Location: Columbus
  • Last Login: February 28, 2019, 12:04:31 PM
    • Vid's Space
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #35 on: March 28, 2015, 07:31:12 PM »

SPUIs can have signlized right turns.

Are there 2-lane highway elements? I only see 1-lane ramps and 3-lane mainlines. Some types of interchanges would be rather awkward with only those options…
Logged
Look, over by the restrooms! It's a girl! It's a boy! No, it's Captain Enby!

…Do you think they're trying to decide which one to use?

Eth

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 2395
  • Age: 32
  • Location: Georgia
  • Last Login: June 23, 2019, 08:54:44 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #36 on: March 28, 2015, 08:09:04 PM »

Are there 2-lane highway elements? I only see 1-lane ramps and 3-lane mainlines. Some types of interchanges would be rather awkward with only those options…

You could probably fake it with a one-way road, albeit at a lower design speed:

Logged

vdeane

  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 10026
  • Age: 28
  • Location: Latham, NY
  • Last Login: June 23, 2019, 09:47:38 PM
    • New York State Roads
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #37 on: March 29, 2015, 04:09:53 PM »

I downloaded the game a couple days ago and have been playing it quite a bit since then. I like it so far, though I miss some of the data views from SC4 (specifically I'd like to be able to click on a road and see where the people using it are coming from and going to).

Also I learned the hard way to never build a hydroelectric dam. That's just asking for trouble.

edit -- made a "SPUI" (though not really, because the right turns are signaled)

The local one I go through multiple times a day has signalized right turns.  They turn green when the NY 7 to I-87 left turns do.  It's a good thing the signal is there; traffic is heavy and trying to turn during the other phases is pretty much impossible (one trick to making a right on red is to do so between phases when all approaches have red).
Logged
Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position of NYSDOT or its affiliates.

algorerhythms

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 585
  • Age: 3
  • Last Login: October 30, 2016, 11:58:25 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #38 on: March 29, 2015, 04:18:51 PM »

I guess you can have signalized right turns in a SPUI, then.

I played the game some more last night, and tried to build a Texas-style freeway with frontage roads, but I ran out of space because I annexed the wrong piece of land.
Logged

froggie

  • *
  • Online Online

  • Posts: 10522
  • Location: Greensboro, VT
  • Last Login: Today at 08:07:26 AM
    • Froggie's Place
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #39 on: March 30, 2015, 08:24:02 AM »

Pretty lengthy write-up of Cities: Skylines on a DC-area urbanist blog.  They go as far as to say that it outperforms SimCity.

http://greatergreaterwashington.org/post/26174/cities-skylines-takes-over-simcitys-mantle-as-top-city-builder/

(Disclaimer:  the article author is a friend of mine)
Logged

Zeffy

  • Revved to Redline
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 4385
  • Age: 25
  • Location: Doylestown, Pennsylvania
  • Last Login: March 29, 2019, 08:56:35 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #40 on: March 30, 2015, 09:52:44 AM »

I've recently found the perfect balance of game-play mods that make this game infinitely more fun. Here's a list with some download links:

1. All Spaces Unlockable
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=403798635

I'm sure everyone has this one already, but if you don't, it's a mod that allows you to purchase 25 tiles instead of the 9 that the default game restricts you too. This in turn means you can make a pretty huge metro area.

2. Tree Brush
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=406723376

This one is good. It allows you to use the Numpad +/- keys while placing trees to turn it into a brush instead of individual placement. This allows you to decorate your city or roads easily.

3. Toggle Traffic Lights
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=411833858

This one is a must have, especially when building interchanges. At any intersection, you can toggle the display and function of traffic signals by pressing CTRL+T. This is extremely useful when trying to build interchanges that sometimes may place a traffic signal at the end of a ramp when it shouldn't be there.

4. Terraform Tool
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=411095553

This one is amazing. It allows you to use the map editor terraforming tools while in game. I have made great use of this to create more realistic highways that follow the grade of the land and not the other way around. It's not perfect, but it's still better than what you get originally.

5. Fine Road Heights
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=413678178

EXTREMELY useful for those who want more realistic looking roadways. It decreases the slope placement from 12->3 meters when placing roads, so you can build smoother transitions and more realistic looking interchanges.

6. Stricter Slope Limits
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=413311572

Ever wanted to make realistic looking interchanges in the game? Well, this mod will help (along with the above one). This mod makes it so slopes have to be pretty damn realistic otherwise you can't build it at all. Making stack interchanges just got a whole lot harder!
Logged
Life's too short to play it safe.

Exploring roads in my 2018 Honda Civic Type R. Hopefully those roads are free of potholes :D

ce929wax

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 271
  • Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan/ABQ, NM in 2024
  • Last Login: June 23, 2019, 11:39:16 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #41 on: March 31, 2015, 09:58:02 PM »

Can you make signs and put them in on this game?
Logged

intelati49

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 305
  • Age: 26
  • Location: Bentonville, AR
  • Last Login: May 25, 2019, 12:11:03 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #42 on: April 03, 2015, 04:20:36 PM »

Can you make signs and put them in on this game?

I don't think so. Yet anyways. I would think there will be some mods on that soon though.

algorerhythms

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 585
  • Age: 3
  • Last Login: October 30, 2016, 11:58:25 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #43 on: April 04, 2015, 10:25:25 PM »

Yeah, that's totally supposed to happen:
Logged

lordsutch

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1054
  • Last Login: March 28, 2019, 10:31:40 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #44 on: April 05, 2015, 12:00:36 AM »

Yeah, that's totally supposed to happen:


Hurricane Katrina was a bitch, what can I say?
Logged

DeaconG

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 696
  • Location: Port St. John, FL
  • Last Login: March 31, 2019, 08:36:05 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #45 on: April 06, 2015, 07:48:38 PM »

Yeah, that's totally supposed to happen:


Hurricane Katrina was a bitch, what can I say?

Nah, just another day at Carnival Cruise Lines...
Logged
Dawnstar: "You're an ape! And you can talk!"
King Solovar: "And you're a human with wings! Reality holds surprises for everyone!"
-Crisis On Infinite Earths #2

roadiejay

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 168
  • Ditat Deus

  • Age: 35
  • Location: Arizona
  • Last Login: March 27, 2019, 07:26:45 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #46 on: April 07, 2015, 07:50:48 AM »

My current laptop meets the minimum requirements, but I'd want to have something that runs it smoothly. I'll likely get the game in a year or two after I purchase a new laptop.
Logged

Thing 342

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1226
  • Age: 21
  • Location: Hampton / Arlington, VA
  • Last Login: June 22, 2019, 07:08:20 PM
    • Thing 342's Road Photos
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #47 on: April 07, 2015, 12:57:20 PM »

Just found Cimtographer, a really cool mod that allows you to import and export cities to and from OSM files:  http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=416064574&searchtext=
Logged

JoePCool14

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 764
  • I'm surrounded by IDiOTs.

  • Age: 18
  • Location: Northeast Illinois
  • Last Login: June 22, 2019, 11:37:15 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #48 on: April 07, 2015, 04:52:32 PM »

I bought the game and for me its my first city-sim game, and its pretty good. The ramps though are really awkward and I was trying to create a freeway through downtown with a one way frontage road, it looks awful because of it. Mods are the only hope at the moment.
Logged
:) Needs more... :sombrero: Not quite... :bigass: Perfect.

JDOT: We make the world a better place to drive.
All posts are personal opinion and/or subject to factual error.
Please excuse my early posts; I was much less mature and knowledegable back in the day!

jakeroot

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 9814
  • U/Wash - Urban Design

  • Age: 23
  • Location: Seattle and Tacoma, WA Vancouver, BC | Arlington, VA
  • Last Login: June 23, 2019, 11:20:05 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #49 on: April 08, 2015, 05:37:48 PM »

I had to buy a new PC to play it:



Can't tell you whats in the above image because even I'm not 100% sure. I just started drawing roads and I came up with this.

FWIW, other than the freeways and in one small instance, I've used only two lane roads. I have a lot of one-way roads in the city centre.

The freeway-to-freeway junction in the bottom left is, while functionally complete, not to my liking. I'm going to change a few things and I'll post again here when I've finished.

I think the best way to build freeways in this game is to use frontage roads/express lanes. I'll go into further detail at another time.
Logged
Avid user of bit.ly. I would never post malicious links, but if you'd like to verify my links for peace of mind, feel free to use either of these sites. Thanks!

https://wheregoes.com/
http://getlinkinfo.com/

 


Opinions expressed here on belong solely to the poster and do not represent or reflect the opinions or beliefs of AARoads, its creators and/or associates.