How Did Route Shields get their shape?

Started by bing101, March 10, 2014, 02:05:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pete from Boston

Quote from: 1 on March 12, 2014, 05:20:15 PM
It says "evacuation". Evacuation routes are probably triangles.

Triangle = Civil Defense, a term pretty much forgotten these days, but whose logo is at the top of the sign.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Civil_defense

Evacuation signs have been round and blue as long as I have been alive, though they once had the CD triangle tucked in there somewhere. 

D-Dey65

Brandon

"If you think this has a happy ending, you haven't been paying attention." - Ramsay Bolton, "Game of Thrones"

"Symbolic of his struggle against reality." - Reg, "Monty Python's Life of Brian"

Kacie Jane

Quote from: Scott5114 on March 12, 2014, 06:13:32 PM
Quote from: agentsteel53 on March 12, 2014, 05:16:46 PM
I have no knowledge of Washington having a state secondary route system.  got any more info?

Wikipedia has some information on them–apparently the secondaries were letter-suffixed routes branching from the primary routes, similar to OK. The current system arose from a renumbering in 1964. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primary_State_Highways_%28Washington%29

Not to be confused with the actual branches of the primary routes, which had a two letter suffix, but were (I think) signed with just the number, and part of the primary system.

Generally, a "new" 3-digit route was probably a pre-1964 branch or secondary, while a "new" 1- or 2-digit route was probably a pre-1964 primary, though plenty of exceptions exist both ways, and there's no longer any legal distinction between primary and secondary.

NE2

I have no knowledge of Washington having a state secondary route system.  got any more info?

Wikipedia has some information on them–apparently the secondaries were letter-suffixed routes branching from the primary routes, similar to OK.
This is a secondary: