AARoads Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New rules for political content in signatures and user profiles. See this thread for details.

Author Topic: New York  (Read 871608 times)

webny99

• Roadgeek Forever!

• Last Login: Today at 03:04:48 PM
Re: New York
« Reply #4900 on: September 28, 2020, 10:29:49 AM »

Left Lane is For Passing, Not Camping!

seicer

• Last Login: Today at 02:43:19 PM
« Reply #4901 on: September 28, 2020, 10:54:56 AM »

Is there a reason why roads flanking the I-88 corridor (including ramps on I-88) have yield signs in lieu of stop signs? Traffic counts are probably lower since nearly every junction off of I-88 are rural, but this is something that's not replicated in other areas of the state. (IMO, yield signs are underappreciated.)

cl94

• Trust me, I'm a transportation engineer

• Last Login: Today at 06:14:21 PM
« Reply #4902 on: September 28, 2020, 08:10:35 PM »

Is there a reason why roads flanking the I-88 corridor (including ramps on I-88) have yield signs in lieu of stop signs? Traffic counts are probably lower since nearly every junction off of I-88 are rural, but this is something that's not replicated in other areas of the state. (IMO, yield signs are underappreciated.)

Good sightlines. NYSDOT will occasionally post yield signs where sightlines are good, particularly in the western part of the state. That being said, sightlines in this state are rarely good enough to meet the Green Book standard for posting a yield sign over a stop sign.
Please note: All posts represent my personal opinions and do not represent those of my employer or any of its partner agencies.

Travel Mapping (updated weekly)

dkblake

• Last Login: Today at 04:09:41 PM
« Reply #4903 on: September 28, 2020, 10:32:17 PM »