AARoads Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: New York State Thruway  (Read 281731 times)

cl94

• Trust me, I'm a transportation engineer

• Last Login: Today at 01:12:54 AM
Re: New York State Thruway
« Reply #1825 on: February 19, 2020, 06:53:38 PM »

Do the Thruway service areas not still have mechanics and repair shops?

I think those were taken out with the 90s renovations.
Please note: All posts represent my personal opinions and do not represent those of my employer or any of its partner agencies.

Travel Mapping (updated weekly)

MASTERNC

• Last Login: February 19, 2020, 08:06:32 PM
« Reply #1826 on: February 19, 2020, 08:00:23 PM »

I'm doing some research for a project about the NY Thruway's service plaza. Iím looking for some information that can put NYís thruway stops in perspective. Are they run-of-the-mill, compared to other states? Do some toll roads have stops with more amenities (car wash? Showers? Mechanics? Non-fast food choices?). Is there one standout among rest stops? If so, Iíd love to know about it.
I'm trying to get a feel for how rest stops are reinventing themselves and if thatís a common trend or not and compare how NY stands up to the other states. Any help you can provide is most appreciated!

I think Illinois put car washes in many of their service plazas (oases) during the last renovation.

SignBridge

• Last Login: February 19, 2020, 10:01:48 PM
« Reply #1827 on: February 19, 2020, 09:24:13 PM »

It's regrettable that most rest-stops today only have fast-food fare.
When I was growing up in the 1960's all these service areas had sit-down chain restaurants. Howard Johnsons was the most common, but there were other brands as well.

Rothman

• Last Login: February 19, 2020, 09:45:23 PM
« Reply #1828 on: February 19, 2020, 09:44:22 PM »

Nobody has time to sit down and tip.