AARoads Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

New rules to ensure post quality. See this thread for details.

Author Topic: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC  (Read 14224 times)

tolbs17

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 3133
  • Age: 19
  • Location: Greenville, NC
  • Last Login: September 22, 2021, 07:59:28 PM
Re: Re: North Carolina
« Reply #25 on: July 31, 2019, 02:19:47 AM »

If that's the current plan, they might have to reconstruct the underpass for the I-77 NB -> I-40 WB under I-40 so they can include the I-40 EB -> I-77 NB lanes.
https://goo.gl/maps/XRcLq7iyD8y9TKhM8

Looks like there might be enough space for 1 additional lane, but not another 2 + barriers.
I was thinking the exact same thing earlier... after studying that underpass for some time, it doesn't look like there's any room for it... That will be interesting to see how they do it. My guess is replace the sloping with retaining wall to open up space.

I think part of the issue was they intended for the flyover / stack design when they built this, but then they modified it to be a turbine.

Also, the I-85/I-485 interchange in northeast Charlotte used to be a stack design that got modified to a turbine. Along with Mallard Creek Rd used to be a SPUI that got modified to a DDI. I'm not really worried about Mallard Creek, but I-85/I-485. Maybe it's because that NCDOT is more gung-ho to the turbine interchanges!

Fun fact: One time that interchange was also designed to have two loops and two flyovers but then was changed all to a four-level stack and then to a turbine.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2019, 02:23:34 AM by mrhappy1261 »
Logged

froggie

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 11915
  • Location: Greensboro, VT
  • Last Login: September 24, 2021, 10:47:04 PM
    • Froggie's Place
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #26 on: July 31, 2019, 08:46:20 AM »

Turbines are less expensive to build and maintain than stacks...those long flyovers on stack interchanges are not cheap.
Logged

tolbs17

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 3133
  • Age: 19
  • Location: Greenville, NC
  • Last Login: September 22, 2021, 07:59:28 PM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #27 on: August 19, 2019, 03:18:13 PM »

Turbines are less expensive to build and maintain than stacks...those long flyovers on stack interchanges are not cheap.
After at looking at the project again, this turbine interchange is actually less weaving compared to the I-85/I-485 in Charlotte. I really enjoy it, and it's not that scary. This is a good move!

Also only make stacks if traffic capacity is super super high on a ramp. It's more money but it would traffic capacity lower because of higher speeds.
Logged

orulz

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 151
  • Age: 39
  • Location: NC
  • Last Login: September 17, 2021, 09:25:49 AM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #28 on: August 19, 2019, 07:34:15 PM »

Stacks take less land as well so they make more sense in a tight suburban context. This is decidedly not that.

NC may wind up seeing what I believe to be its second true stack at I-40/I-440/US1/US64 in Raleigh (The first being 485/77 in south Charlotte.) Relatively tight location, and three of the four movements are busy enough to warrant flyovers. (40E-440E is less busy because Wade Avenue is there.) Add in the possibility of managed lanes and this one is shaping up to be quite a monster.
« Last Edit: August 19, 2019, 07:47:07 PM by orulz »
Logged

ARMOURERERIC

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1120
  • Age: 57
  • Location: Morganton NC
  • Last Login: September 24, 2021, 10:57:24 PM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #29 on: August 19, 2019, 09:13:36 PM »

Plus Statesville is more likely to experience a heavy snow event, not something you want a long high flyover to drive on.
Logged

tolbs17

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 3133
  • Age: 19
  • Location: Greenville, NC
  • Last Login: September 22, 2021, 07:59:28 PM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #30 on: August 19, 2019, 09:15:34 PM »

I say flyover ramps are more fun to drive on and going high up!

Turbines are better for price, and not being as scared with all the bridges that go high up.
Logged

LM117

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 2906
  • Age: 32
  • Location: Danville, VA 👎
  • Last Login: September 24, 2021, 04:18:12 PM
Logged
I dont know whether to wind my ass or scratch my watch! - Jim Cornette

tolbs17

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 3133
  • Age: 19
  • Location: Greenville, NC
  • Last Login: September 22, 2021, 07:59:28 PM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #32 on: December 24, 2019, 11:16:26 AM »

https://www.ncdot.gov/projects/i40-i77-interchange/Documents/i-40-i77-interchange-improvements-map.pdf

http://prntscr.com/qf96w4

https://www.google.com/maps/@35.8100099,-80.8582204,3a,48y,0.04h,91.61t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1s6o8YxLCI4M8njigJeWQZqQ!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

This bridge doesn't look long enough to hold 4 lanes even though the plan says they will put 4 lanes under that bridge.

Unless they want to modernize it so it can hold 4 lanes.

But, when looking at it, they would have to completely replace the bridges (they look fairly new too), and build longer ones that can accommodate 4 lanes under.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2019, 11:21:22 AM by tolbs17 »
Logged

rickmastfan67

  • The Invisible One
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 2958
  • I want I-67 in PA!!!!

  • Age: 36
  • Location: Pittsburgh, Pa, USA
  • Last Login: September 24, 2021, 12:31:56 AM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #33 on: December 24, 2019, 09:21:38 PM »

https://www.ncdot.gov/projects/i40-i77-interchange/Documents/i-40-i77-interchange-improvements-map.pdf

http://prntscr.com/qf96w4

https://www.google.com/maps/@35.8100099,-80.8582204,3a,48y,0.04h,91.61t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1s6o8YxLCI4M8njigJeWQZqQ!2e0!7i16384!8i8192

This bridge doesn't look long enough to hold 4 lanes even though the plan says they will put 4 lanes under that bridge.

Unless they want to modernize it so it can hold 4 lanes.

But, when looking at it, they would have to completely replace the bridges (they look fairly new too), and build longer ones that can accommodate 4 lanes under.

https://www.aaroads.com/forum/index.php?topic=7423.msg2433731#msg2433731

tolbs17

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 3133
  • Age: 19
  • Location: Greenville, NC
  • Last Login: September 22, 2021, 07:59:28 PM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #34 on: December 24, 2019, 09:35:50 PM »

They should have stuck with one plan (the stack) rather than change it to a turbine so problems like this wouldn't happen.

You end up spending more money than you think when you plan for a previous plan and come up with something that's completely different...
Logged

LM117

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 2906
  • Age: 32
  • Location: Danville, VA 👎
  • Last Login: September 24, 2021, 04:18:12 PM
Logged
I dont know whether to wind my ass or scratch my watch! - Jim Cornette

OracleUsr

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 906
  • Age: 50
  • Location: North Carolina
  • Last Login: September 24, 2021, 10:43:39 PM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #36 on: July 18, 2020, 10:23:02 PM »

I rode through there this evening and couldn't tell if this was permanent.
Logged
Anti-center-tabbing, anti-sequential-numbering, anti-Clearview BGS FAN

cowboy_wilhelm

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 221
  • Location: Raleigh
  • Last Login: September 14, 2021, 08:23:44 AM
Re: I-40/I-77 interchange in Statesville, NC
« Reply #37 on: July 19, 2020, 10:08:21 AM »

I rode through there this evening and couldn't tell if this was permanent.

It should be a temporary shift while they work on widening the westbound lanes. The separate mainline and collector/distributor lanes will return. This map should help visualize it.

This is a very bizarre project. They spent years working on the first phase, which just finished not that long ago, and now they're going back and tearing out a bunch of the work they just did. I guess it ends up costing less to do some re-work to accommodate the turbine than to build the fly-overs.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2020, 10:16:25 AM by cowboy_wilhelm »
Logged

 


Opinions expressed here on belong solely to the poster and do not represent or reflect the opinions or beliefs of AARoads, its creators and/or associates.