Dallas North Tollway

Home » Guides » Texas Highways » Dallas North Tollway

Operated by the North Texas Tollway Authority (NTTA), the Dallas North Tollway (DNT) extends 30.48 miles from IH 35W (Stemmons Freeway) between the Design District and Uptown in central Dallas to U.S. 380 on the Frisco and Prosper city line. The limited access highway runs along the west side of Highland Park and University Park to Loop 12, then parallels SH 289 (Preston Road) north to Farmers Branch and Addison. Beyond the northern reaches of Dallas, the DNT passes through Plano and Frisco before ending as Dallas Parkway north of U.S. 380. Dallas Parkway extends 6.18 miles north to FM 428 in Celina as an at-grade roadway.

Interchanges along the DNT are unnumbered and tolls are collected with All Electronic Tolling (AET). New ramps opened in 2008 at Oak Lawn Avenue and Lemmon Avenue with the DNT as part of a $46 million widening project to add a lane in each direction.

The Dallas North Tollway Phase 4 project will upgrade Dallas Parkway to limited access standards (Phase 4A), and construct a new 7.7-mile long facility from FM 428 north to the Grayson County line (Phase 4B). The proposed Grayson County Tollway may extend the DNT further north. Design work on the DNT extension over U.S. 380 begins in early 2018.1

Dallas North Tollway Guides

The DNT opened northward through Dallas to IH 635 (Lyndon B. Johnson Freeway) in June 1968. The next extension opened north to Addison and extreme southwestern Collin County at Briargrove Lane in 1987. Further segments opened northward through Plano to what is now the Sam Rayburn Tollway in 1994, to Gaylord Parkway in April 2004 and to U.S. 380 in September 2007.2

  1. "Dallas North Tollway Phase 4 - Progress Report." North Texas Tollway Authority (NTTA), Winter 2018.
  2. Dallas North Tollway (DNT) - NTTA web site.

    Connect with:
    Interstate 635 - Lyndon B. Johnson Freeway
    U.S. 380

    Page Updated 01-24-2018.