News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Roadgeeks who changed the world?

Started by Ken Jennings, August 04, 2010, 09:59:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken Jennings

Hey, as I mentioned in this earlier post, I'm an author working on a book chapter about road buffs.  Right now, I'm interested in the idea that roadgeeks might actually perform a useful public service by, essentially, being the only nonprofessionals who really know or care about decisions made regarding public roads.

Can anybody suggest any real-world "good deeds" done by knowledgeable roadgeeks?  This could be something as small as having a state DoT fix an incorrect road sign, or--who knows?--as big as watchdogging some wrong-headed construction project so that it gets done right.

Any ideas?  Thanks in advance.

Alex

There was some discussion along these lines at this topic that may be of interest.

Roadgeek Adam

Am I the only one who think Jeff Kitsko and Scott Oglesby deserve good mention here? I mean the Pennsylvania Department of Inept Transportation kind of relies on Jeff for a lot of things on his website.
Adam Seth Moss
M.A. History, Western Illinois University 2015-17
B.A. History, Montclair State University 2013-15
A.A. History & Education - Middlesex (County) College 2009-13

agentsteel53

Danny Castro is single-handedly responsible for a great amount of historic 66 signage in California.
live from sunny San Diego.

http://shields.aaroads.com

jake@aaroads.com

Scott5114