News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

I'm new to AARoads and I have a ton of questions to ask (and, by the way, hi)

Started by -NCX75-, May 03, 2014, 11:54:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

-NCX75-

Whelp, this is it. I've finally registered here on the good ol' AARoads forum. It's taken me a bit, as I've mostly been lurking, so, umm... yeah. Hi.  :D
I am 14 years old and I live, not in Dallas, but close to it in Plano (don't hate me, please), and a quick 5-minute drive to my namesake, the Central Expressway. (US-75, if you want to get technical. And I've seen some posts on here. People here love to get technical.) I have been interested in roads, (gasp) public transit and (gasp) airports since I was about four. (I won't talk about the latter two here, of course.) Roads, primarily freeways, interest me because it always provokes in me a sense of wonder, as in, where does this road go? What's this road like up ahead? Does it get wider, narrower, older, newer? How does the terrain change? How is the ride through the city of suchandsuch? When I exit a road, I wonder what it's like up ahead. Where's that car  going, where did it come from? Stuff like that.

Anyway...

Before I become a super-user of this forum, I'd kind of like to, y'know, build up my account a bit, and like many of you, I figured a good way to do that would be to give myself an avatar. I have a design lying around that I'd like to use, but every time I try to use it, it says that the file is either too big (I shrunk the .png down to 5 kb so that shouldn't be a problem) or it isn't an avatar (what's that supposed to mean, anyway?). Could it be the fact that part of the design is partially transparent? I figured that if anybody had that problem it would be people that use the forum (obviously), and I'd like to ask for clarification on that front.