Forum Administrator/Moderator Appreciation Thread

Started by ZLoth, March 22, 2024, 12:30:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

I'm surprised no one has done this before, and sometimes it takes some downtime, but....

Here is an appreciation to the forum administrators and moderators who keep AARoads up and running and the place that it is.
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

kurumi

+1 to that.

It's like a gated community, but welcomes newcomers; if you're interested in roads, and not a troll, you can find a home here. The tent is big enough that historians, road trippers, sign collectors, fictional highway buffs, TV commercial aficionados, and people in the industry (and more) can belong.

There are currently 4,669 members here. How many of them got started, and expanded their interests and talents, primarily because this forum exists?

I'm glad we didn't all end up in some discord. Instead, we have searchable forums and a public wiki. Definitely "giving back" to the world in the old-fashioned sense of the internet.
My first SF/horror short story collection is available: "Young Man, Open Your Winter Eye"

MikieTimT

+2

Thanks for the countless and thankless (at least until now!) hours sacrificed in the service of roadgeekery.

Rothman

Please note: All comments here represent my own personal opinion and do not reflect the official position(s) of NYSDOT.

Big John

Hunty2022

100th Post: 11/10/22
250th Post: 12/3/22
500th Post: 3/12/23
1000th Post: 11/12/23

Hunty Roads (under construction):
https://huntyroadsva.blogspot.com

jlam

kphoger

Quote from: Big John on March 22, 2024, 02:45:30 PM
Thank you for doing a thankless job.

Yep.  Thanks for putting up with our childlike behavior, guys.
Keep right except to pass.  Yes.  You.
Visit scenic Orleans County, NY!