News:

Needing some php assistance with the script on the main AARoads site. Please contact Alex if you would like to help or provide advice!

Main Menu

ODOT warns of cutbacks to plowing amid falling gas tax revenue

Started by ZLoth, October 20, 2023, 09:22:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ZLoth

From KGW8:

ODOT warns of cutbacks to plowing and other winter storm measures amid falling gas tax revenue
QuoteSnowstorms tend to stretch ODOT maintenance crews to their limits, and those limits will be a little lower this year due to declines in Oregon's gas tax revenue.
FULL ARTICLE HERE
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

The Ghostbuster

How well maintained are the roads in Oregon? With this cutback in funding, they will likely become even worse. I think they should ditch the gas tax for some kind of fee that is more sustainable for funding road projects.

ZLoth

I don't know as I only driven in Oregon during Summer-early Fall. But, it demonstrates how pushing for first more fuel-efficient vehicles and now electric vehicles, in the name of "going green" and being "more energy efficient", has the unintended side effect of reducing the revenue from gas tax. A mileage-based system may be a substitute, but what if you live in Portland, Oregon, but most of your traveling is in Vancouver, Washington or all over the state of Washington?
I'm an Engineer. That means I solve problems. Not problems like "What is beauty?", because that would fall within the purview of your conundrums of philosophy. I solve practical problems and call them "paychecks".

hotdogPi

Quote from: ZLoth on October 20, 2023, 01:07:43 PM
what if you live in Portland, Oregon, but most of your traveling is in Vancouver, Washington or all over the state of Washington?