News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Whatever happened to that troll over at MTR who had the handle of TEXAS?

Started by blawp, June 20, 2012, 02:14:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

J N Winkler

Quote from: Beltway on June 21, 2012, 04:08:06 PMAbout appeals to authority being an attempt to provoke certain posters  -- I wouldn't go that far, I think in most cases it was simply an attempt to silence the other poster, "I am the expert by profession in this matter, and I am right about this point, so you are wrong, and you need to stop arguing about it".

There is a specific person who is the first to come to my mind, and--I am sure--yours as well, when we think about PEs posting as PEs on MTR.  Though this person has been a protagonist in many heated debates, he has for the most part impressed me as someone who is able to foresee the consequences of his actions. 

I have lost count of the times I have seen him set off other MTR posters (including RAD cross-posters who agitate for higher speed limits) by appealing to professional expertise.  When I got into it with him about some aspect or other of Green Book policy, he tried to play the professional-expertise card by suggesting that FHWA was more likely to listen to a PE than some ill-informed member of the general public.  My response to that was that the FHWA rulemaking process is open to all comers, and that (as shown by, e.g., the rulemaking that led to the 2003 MUTCD), FHWA considered individual comments on their technical merits, without regard to the professional or institutional standing of the entity making them.  This meant that a private-citizen commenter who had studied an issue sufficiently to develop technical expertise in it, and could make a well-reasoned argument for one position or another, would be taken seriously whether he was a PE or not.