News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Roads and San Andreas Fault

Started by lamsalfl, February 28, 2013, 11:12:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lamsalfl

I'm from New Orleans, so I'm not an earthquake expert.  This may sound as a stupid question, but if the two plates along the San Andreas Fault are moving at 1.5 inches a year, what happens to the roads as they cross the fault line?  Are they constantly in a state of (dis)repair to keep them safe?  Does the asphalt continuously need to be updated?  I realize 1.5 inches is not a lot, but what happens every 4 years when there is a SIX INCH difference? 

Occidental Tourist

The reason we have earthquakes is that the plates do not move linearly.  Some areas along the fault move and others get hung up on the opposing plate.  In the areas along the fault that don't move, or don't move as fast as other areas, stress builds up at those points. When the stress at those points that aren't moving overcomes the resistance from the opposing plate, the fault slips, and an earthquake results from the sudden movement. So it is more common to see surface along faultlines stay undisturbed for five to ten years, and then move six inches to a foot during a moderate to large earthquake.

There are areas where the movement is more linear, like the Parkfield area.  It has lots of little earthquakes, and you do see more gradual movement like you envisioned.  The surface doesn't usually move in exact proportion with the fault below, so on roads crossing or atop the fault, you'll see pavement undulations develop over a series of years that will either turn into pavement splits or sinkholes that need to be repaved.

Brandon

^^ IIRC, in and around Parkfield, there are examples of curbs that have been offset by the fault line.