News:

Thank you for your patience during the Forum downtime while we upgraded the software. Welcome back and see this thread for some new features and other changes to the forum.

Main Menu

South Carolina

Started by wriddle082, January 30, 2011, 07:53:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wriddle082

Now that I'm a resident of the Palmetto State, I figured I should go ahead and begin a general thread for this state since there hasn't already been one created.

Since I've been here, for the past four weeks I had been commuting back and forth from West Columbia to Augusta, GA for work (for the next two weeks I'll be working locally, then possibly back to Augusta or somewhere else in Eastern GA after that).  Anyway, here are some of my general observations about I-20 and other roads west of Columbia:

* The I-20 weigh stations (WB in Lexington Co. around mm 54, EB in Aiken Co. around mm 41 I thnk) have never been open any time I pass by them (yes I passed by them during "business hours"), but the I-26 weigh stations NW of Columbia seem to be open fairly often.

* I really dislike SC's practice of resurfacing only one direction of interstate at a time.  :pan:  It seems like WB I-20 has worse pavement than EB I-20 b/w Lexington and I-520.  From SC 6 to the Aiken Co. line WB, there are work zone signs, but it appears that very little work has taken place.  From US 1 to just before I-520, the WB pavement appears to be not that old, but it's deteriorating a a pretty rapid pace.  Most of the time I had to stay back from most semi trucks so I wouldn't get my windshield cracked, and stay in the left lane to avoid the worst spots.

* I-520 in SC is a great road, and gets you from I-20 to Downtown Augusta very quickly, but the 60 MPH speed limit is a bit too slow for now.  They could stand to maybe make it 65 MPH until development (if it ever happens) justifies lowering it to 60.