News:

Thanks to everyone for the feedback on what errors you encountered from the forum database changes made in Fall 2023. Let us know if you discover anymore.

Main Menu

Change over to Metric

Started by jwolfer, June 21, 2012, 03:28:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jwolfer

This question is for you Canadians or Australians  who can remember the change over to metric.  Canada and Australia seem to have fully embraced the change as far as roads more than the UK.  When i was in early elementary school I remember learning the metric measurements and begin told we would be changing over by 1980... here we are 31 years later.  The biggest use of metric in the US are liquor bottles and 2L soda.  Science as well I have a bachelors degree in Biology and i think of freezing/boiling as 0/100.  But 30 does not sound hot to me.   Australian TV shows and documentaries or House Hunters International every one is comfortable using meters.

How long did it take to "think" in metric?  I can calculate km pretty easily.  Someone says 500km i think 250 miles.  1km is more of less 1/2mile and from pics on here it seems that advance guide signs were changed from 1 mile--1/2mile to 2km--1km.

english si

Quote from: jwolfer on June 21, 2012, 03:28:46 PMBut 30 does not sound hot to me.
do what we (used to) do - 32 isn't cold, 32 isn't hot, 0 and 90 sound right, however, so you use Celsius in winter, and Fahrenheit in summer.
QuoteI can calculate km pretty easily.  Someone says 500km i think 250 miles. 1km is more of less 1/2mile
1 mile is 1609m. 1km is 1100yards, half a mile is 880yds. 1.6km in a mile, 0.6miles in a km. Doubling just leads to problems.

1-2-3-5-8-13-21... - the lower number of miles in km is approximately the next one up in the series. 20mph=30km/h, 30mph=50km/h, 50mph=80km/h, 80mph=130km/h is a pretty useful guide (though Canada, unlike Europe, doesn't do 130km/h).

500km is 300 miles - only 10 miles out, not 60!

kkt