AARoads Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?  (Read 54474 times)

fmendes

  • *
  • Online Online

  • Posts: 36
  • Location: Long Island New York
  • Last Login: Today at 08:14:12 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #300 on: January 07, 2021, 01:51:45 PM »

Has anyone used the springfield interchange on the steam workshop yet? :hmmm:
Logged

riiga

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 583
  • From the land of Vikings and Volvos

  • Age: 28
  • Location: Sweden
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 04:02:38 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #301 on: January 10, 2021, 06:44:00 AM »

TM:PE has started working for me again, so I've been playing some more. I also installed the Move It! mod which has been very helpful.

The motorway was too close to my city center so I planned a new alignment:


Built an interchange trying to get those smooth ramps and curves:


Rebuilt the intersection at the rightmost end of my city:


New suburb, European style:



Overview. You can see the new alignment, rebuilt interchanges, etc:
Logged

jakeroot

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 12531
  • U/Wash | GIS & Urban Design

  • Age: 25
  • Location: Seattle and Tacoma, WA Vancouver, BC | Arlington, VA
  • Last Login: Today at 02:43:35 AM
    • Flickr
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #302 on: January 10, 2021, 01:55:51 PM »

TM:PE has started working for me again, so I've been playing some more. I also installed the Move It! mod which has been very helpful.

The motorway was too close to my city center so I planned a new alignment:

I love how you planned out the bypass before building it. That is totally genius and adds another level of realism to the game.

The curves also look excellent. Nicely done.

Has anyone used the springfield interchange on the steam workshop yet? :hmmm:

I've never personally used the custom interchanges from the workshop. Something tells me the Springfield Interchange is too specific to the real-life Springfield, VA to actually be of use in Cities: Skylines. Never mind the whole issue of the interchange taking up hilarious amounts of land. You really need 81 Tiles to not feel overwhelmed.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 01:58:42 PM by jakeroot »
Logged
Check out my Flickr  |  Comments which I make here do not reflect positions of the University of Washington ("UW"), anyone employed by UW, nor any other students of UW. All comments are my own, and reflect my own ridiculous opinions.

fmendes

  • *
  • Online Online

  • Posts: 36
  • Location: Long Island New York
  • Last Login: Today at 08:14:12 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #303 on: January 11, 2021, 08:39:01 AM »

TM:PE has started working for me again, so I've been playing some more. I also installed the Move It! mod which has been very helpful.

The motorway was too close to my city center so I planned a new alignment:

I love how you planned out the bypass before building it. That is totally genius and adds another level of realism to the game.

The curves also look excellent. Nicely done.

Has anyone used the springfield interchange on the steam workshop yet? :hmmm:

I've never personally used the custom interchanges from the workshop. Something tells me the Springfield Interchange is too specific to the real-life Springfield, VA to actually be of use in Cities: Skylines. Never mind the whole issue of the interchange taking up hilarious amounts of land. You really need 81 Tiles to not feel overwhelmed.
i hear its rlly massive im just gonna create my own interchanges and make the highway with local and express lanes so it can handle lots of traffic i have done this before if on xbox but now im on pc so i can have more freedom with alignments and i have tmpe so i can have even more capacity if u wanna see my other interchanges go to my gaming instagram @porkchopftc and youll see a big spagetti
Logged

rickmastfan67

  • The Invisible One
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 2853
  • I want I-67 in PA!!!!

  • Age: 36
  • Location: Pittsburgh, Pa, USA
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 11:29:46 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #304 on: January 11, 2021, 03:40:59 PM »

Has anyone used the springfield interchange on the steam workshop yet? :hmmm:

I've never personally used the custom interchanges from the workshop. Something tells me the Springfield Interchange is too specific to the real-life Springfield, VA to actually be of use in Cities: Skylines. Never mind the whole issue of the interchange taking up hilarious amounts of land. You really need 81 Tiles to not feel overwhelmed.

I assume this is the file that's being talked about:
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=947827349

Just a heads up for people, just link to the addon on Steam so people can easily look it up instead of having to search for it (especially since some items have several different people making it using the same name).  Might stimulate more conversation even. ;)
« Last Edit: January 11, 2021, 03:46:09 PM by rickmastfan67 »
Logged

stridentweasel

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1424
  • Age: 36
  • Location: Kansas
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 06:54:05 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #305 on: January 12, 2021, 04:31:32 AM »

Does anyone else try to build out an 81-tile city and feel like they've made an overly ambitious mess?  I think I'm going to start playing with just 9 tiles again and cut down on the number of mods I'm using, and maybe this game will feel less like projects that I've decided to take on out of compulsion.
Logged
"Signs, signs, everywhere there's signs," and I kind of like them.

Disclaimer: Views I express are my own and don't reflect any employer or associated entity.

fmendes

  • *
  • Online Online

  • Posts: 36
  • Location: Long Island New York
  • Last Login: Today at 08:14:12 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #306 on: January 12, 2021, 03:07:25 PM »

Has anyone used the springfield interchange on the steam workshop yet? :hmmm:

I've never personally used the custom interchanges from the workshop. Something tells me the Springfield Interchange is too specific to the real-life Springfield, VA to actually be of use in Cities: Skylines. Never mind the whole issue of the interchange taking up hilarious amounts of land. You really need 81 Tiles to not feel overwhelmed.

I assume this is the file that's being talked about:
https://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=947827349

Just a heads up for people, just link to the addon on Steam so people can easily look it up instead of having to search for it (especially since some items have several different people making it using the same name).  Might stimulate more conversation even. ;)
yes it is and i was thinking it would look out of place in any other city and if u dont have at least a 100k pop and citizens that uses the highway alot it wont be satisfying like the one IRL yk
Logged

jakeroot

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 12531
  • U/Wash | GIS & Urban Design

  • Age: 25
  • Location: Seattle and Tacoma, WA Vancouver, BC | Arlington, VA
  • Last Login: Today at 02:43:35 AM
    • Flickr
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #307 on: January 13, 2021, 02:01:52 PM »

Does anyone else try to build out an 81-tile city and feel like they've made an overly ambitious mess?  I think I'm going to start playing with just 9 tiles again and cut down on the number of mods I'm using, and maybe this game will feel less like projects that I've decided to take on out of compulsion.

I've been using 81 Tiles for a long time now. At this point, it would be very strange to return to even 25 tiles, much less 9. But then the way I build my cities, it's not that I'm being overly ambitious. The way I build, I largely don't use most of the map for buildings. What I do is use the 81 Tiles mod to build a larger road network, and it allows me to spread out my city a bit, maybe building some villages and hamlets way out in the country...it adds to the realism for me. At the end of the day, 90% of my population is clustered in about 4 tiles.
Logged
Check out my Flickr  |  Comments which I make here do not reflect positions of the University of Washington ("UW"), anyone employed by UW, nor any other students of UW. All comments are my own, and reflect my own ridiculous opinions.

I-55

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 340
  • "We're in Mississippi now, bump your speed up"

  • Location: Indiana
  • Last Login: January 20, 2021, 10:43:53 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #308 on: January 13, 2021, 11:25:08 PM »

It would be nice to have more than just the 81 tiles. If you're trying to build large cities (to realistic American Standards) of over 300k, you'll need more than the current tiles (roughly 10 miles by 10 miles). The current arrangement allows you to build cities that landwise are about the size of Tuscaloosa-Northport, AL (population of Tuscaloosa county is a little over 200k). If you want to be ambitious like me and try a city like Indianapolis you'd probably need about 500 tiles to cover the land of the metro. In my fictional world, my home city is similar size to Indianapolis and I would need 600+ tiles to build it in game. Obviously that would be hard for the game to handle which is why 81 is much more feasible.

For the time being though I'm still doing fine planning cities that fit in with the current space constraints.
Logged
I have Unbridled Spirit driving on the Crossroads of America to the Heart of Dixie. I listen to the Soundtrack of America as I receive the South's Warmest Welcome, then driving Hog Wild to Show Me through the Land of Lincoln, back through the Bluegrass to Almost Heaven, and I Found it Here.

stridentweasel

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1424
  • Age: 36
  • Location: Kansas
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 06:54:05 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #309 on: January 14, 2021, 11:32:07 AM »

It would be nice to have more than just the 81 tiles. If you're trying to build large cities (to realistic American Standards) of over 300k, you'll need more than the current tiles (roughly 10 miles by 10 miles). The current arrangement allows you to build cities that landwise are about the size of Tuscaloosa-Northport, AL (population of Tuscaloosa county is a little over 200k). If you want to be ambitious like me and try a city like Indianapolis you'd probably need about 500 tiles to cover the land of the metro. In my fictional world, my home city is similar size to Indianapolis and I would need 600+ tiles to build it in game. Obviously that would be hard for the game to handle which is why 81 is much more feasible.

For the time being though I'm still doing fine planning cities that fit in with the current space constraints.

You can easily to get to half a million population with 81 tiles.  It just takes patience.

(I started losing patience somewhere around 400,000, and I felt like I had a mess with no real scheme for making beautiful, so I decided I'd rather downsize and focus on smaller details, because that's what I usually handle better with just about anything.)
Logged
"Signs, signs, everywhere there's signs," and I kind of like them.

Disclaimer: Views I express are my own and don't reflect any employer or associated entity.

stridentweasel

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1424
  • Age: 36
  • Location: Kansas
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 06:54:05 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #310 on: January 16, 2021, 10:39:59 AM »

Does anyone else like building highways with at-grade intersections (expressways, surface highways, arterial highways, Jersey Freeways, etc.), and seeing how well you can manage traffic on them without making them freeways?  To me, it's an added challenge in the game, although without using TM:PE and maybe other mods, you're rather limited in your arsenal of traffic control devices (e.g., you can't ban left turns without TM:PE).  What's hilarious is when the game keeps giving you that traffic warning message, even when the traffic on your surface highway is flowing just fine.

I actually found this was one scenario where I had made a conventional diamond, saw it turn into a traffic nightmare, turned it into a diverging diamond, and saw traffic improve both short-term and long-term.





(You can see that the left-most interchange is still a conventional diamond, but traffic on the surface highway still flows at an acceptable rate without changing it.)

I also made a short City Drive video of the above highway (which means I can't be using TM:PE here, because they're incompatible mods).  It was originally longer and showed both directions, but I cut most of it out, because some of my graphics were flickering, which ruined it.  (Anybody know of a way to fix that, or is there just no getting around that?)


On another note, I do wish the game would include more TM:PE-like features as standard features (it does already include the ability to toggle traffic signals and stop signs, making that part of TM:PE redundant).  A surface highway would probably work much better at 80 km/h (closer to 50 MPH) than 100 km/h (roughly 60 MPH), but I don't know of a way to change that without TM:PE.
Logged
"Signs, signs, everywhere there's signs," and I kind of like them.

Disclaimer: Views I express are my own and don't reflect any employer or associated entity.

I-55

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 340
  • "We're in Mississippi now, bump your speed up"

  • Location: Indiana
  • Last Login: January 20, 2021, 10:43:53 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #311 on: January 16, 2021, 01:52:42 PM »

^ First time I've ever seen someone use J-turns in Cities:Skylines. Doesn't look too shabby at all.
Logged
I have Unbridled Spirit driving on the Crossroads of America to the Heart of Dixie. I listen to the Soundtrack of America as I receive the South's Warmest Welcome, then driving Hog Wild to Show Me through the Land of Lincoln, back through the Bluegrass to Almost Heaven, and I Found it Here.

stridentweasel

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1424
  • Age: 36
  • Location: Kansas
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 06:54:05 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #312 on: January 16, 2021, 02:21:12 PM »

^ First time I've ever seen someone use J-turns in Cities:Skylines. Doesn't look too shabby at all.

Thanks!  It helps to put stop signs on them, because C:S drivers tend to be bad at yielding.

(Heck, with the sharp angles of a lot of the on-ramps that game gives you, combined with the complete lack of acceleration lanes, you might as well pull a Pennsylvania and put stop signs on them, too.  The game's built-in cloverleaf is pretty much like this: https://goo.gl/maps/Y85HLvBT2tg8afk5A )
Logged
"Signs, signs, everywhere there's signs," and I kind of like them.

Disclaimer: Views I express are my own and don't reflect any employer or associated entity.

CoreySamson

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 543
  • Buc-ee's Fanboy

  • Age: 17
  • Location: Greater Houston, TX
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 09:06:58 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #313 on: January 16, 2021, 10:26:44 PM »

^ First time I've ever seen someone use J-turns in Cities:Skylines. Doesn't look too shabby at all.
I put them in on arterials as a first step in changing them to freeways. They seem to work well with low traffic, but I haven't used them in a high-traffic environment yet. Might be something to play around with in one of my old cities tomorrow.
Logged
Houston-area teenage roadgeek.
Amateur guitarist and keyboardist.

Fix Baton Rouge's traffic!!!

andrepoiy

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 128
  • Age: 17
  • Location: Vaughan, ON
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 09:53:56 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #314 on: January 19, 2021, 09:14:53 PM »

Good idea, I shall attempt to build a city with no freeways (like Winnipeg)
Logged

fmendes

  • *
  • Online Online

  • Posts: 36
  • Location: Long Island New York
  • Last Login: Today at 08:14:12 AM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #315 on: January 20, 2021, 09:06:13 AM »

has anyone ever tried doing a realistic toll road like the NJ turnpike
Logged

X99

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 757
  • Location: South Dakota
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 06:13:50 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #316 on: January 20, 2021, 11:16:06 AM »

Normally I would post an update screenshot of my Rapid City rebuild, but I've been stalled on it for a while since attempting to build a block of downtown and look at it from the side actually crashed my GPU. I still have to reconfigure my graphics mods before I start building again.

I'm also thinking that I might have taken on too big of a project for my first real life rebuild, and I might put it on hold and build Marion, IN instead. Much smaller population (~20k as opposed to ~70k), flatter terrain (which I'm doing manually because adding terrain through other means either misaligns the heightmap or crashes the game), and companies that actually have workshop models (seriously, I can't even find a Common Cents convenience store, let alone a Holiday, Maverik, or even Blaze Pizza).
Logged
Rebuilding Box Elder and Rapid City, SD in Cities Skylines. Traffic issues, trailer parks, and bad zoning choices all included!

stridentweasel

  • *
  • Offline Offline

  • Posts: 1424
  • Age: 36
  • Location: Kansas
  • Last Login: January 21, 2021, 06:54:05 PM
Re: Anyone play Cities: Skylines yet?
« Reply #317 on: January 21, 2021, 06:49:46 AM »

has anyone ever tried doing a realistic toll road like the NJ turnpike

I haven't gone so far as to do a long-distance dual-dual configuration, but I make double-trumpet interchanges with a toll plaza in the middle rather frequently.

In fact, one of my favorite "tropes" in my C:S cities is to have entrance/exit tolls on the in-game freeways and then mainline tolls on any new freeways I build.
Logged
"Signs, signs, everywhere there's signs," and I kind of like them.

Disclaimer: Views I express are my own and don't reflect any employer or associated entity.

 


Opinions expressed here on belong solely to the poster and do not represent or reflect the opinions or beliefs of AARoads, its creators and/or associates.