The Delaware Highways page gives an overview of the numbered route system serving the First State. Guides include photos, maps, traffic counts, information on current and future projects and history.

Highway Guides

City / Area Guides

Other Guides

A doubling of the state population since 1970 brought the total to 786,189 as of the 2000 census. During that time period, Interstate 95 expanded from six to eight lanes, tolls at the Delaware Turnpike interchanges were removed, and the SR 1 toll road was constructed between Dover and the Wilmington metropolitan area. Explosive growth continued through the new millennium with 935,614 Delawareans estimated per the Census in 2014.

The 14-mile long U.S. 301 toll road opened to traffic on January 10, 2019. Other projects expand existing roadways, modify interchanges, and replace intersections along both U.S. 113 and State Route 1 with grade separations.

Population Statistics

State Population
Metropolitan Populations
Wilmington 716,763 Dover 169,416
County Populations
New Castle 552,778 Sussex 210,849 Kent 171,987
Top City / Town Populations
Wilmington 71,817 Dover 37,355 Newark 33,008
Middletown 19,910 Milford 10,179 Elsmere 6,131
Smyrna 11,170 Seaford 7,417 Georgetown 6,891
Sources: 2014 U.S. Census Data estimates;
Population Change for Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas in the United States and Puerto Rico (February 2013 Delineations): 2000 to 2010

About Delaware

  • Capital: Dover
  • Nickname: First State or Diamond State
  • State Flower: Peach Blossom
  • State Bird: Delaware Blue Hen
  • State Tree: American Holly
  • Total Interstate Mileage: 40.61
  • Land Area: 1,948.54 square miles
  • Highest Point: Ebright Azimuth 447.85 Feet
  • Statehood: 1st State, admitted December 7, 1787.

The original pages were compiled from 1998 to 2004, mostly from personal observation and recollections of news paper articles and library research from the webmaster.

A number of photos from the early Delaware Highways Pages appear in the I’m from Delaware music video:

Special thanks goes to Steve Alpert, Steve Anderson, Chase Beck, Russell Blau, Justin Blau, Carter Buchanan, Jana Clark, Lou Corsaro, Adam Froehlig, Averill Hecht, Brent Ivy, Chris Jordan, Kelly Nitzman, Jeanne Krause, Jonathan Lebowitz, Ian Ligget, JP Nasiatka, Fred Nitzman, Nicole Nitzman, Tim Reichard, Jim Teresco, Cary B. Todd, Rahul, Jeff Royston, Michael Summa, Kevin J. Sylvester, Mike Tantillo, and Ed Wilson for their support and contributions to the Delaware Highways Page.

The Delaware Highways pages at AARoads are not associated with the Delaware Department of Transportation or its employees.

Page updated February 26, 2021.